Tonight the Finnish national selection Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (New Music Competition) saw acts hoping to directly reach next weekend’s  final.

Tonight’s show was a ‘live club’ round, with the entrants specifically judged on their live vocal and performance in front of a live audience. escXtra has spoken to the Finnish contestants in interviews that can be seen via this link. Following the jury vote, the results are as follows:

Eliminated by jury: Aili, The Spyro.

The remaining seven acts are: Pernilla Karlsson, Kaisa Vala, Freeman & New Fantasy, Stig, Iconcrash, Mica Ikonen and Ville Eetvartti. These are currently in a public vote which shall see 5 acts precede directly to the final, with the bottom two facing a jury sing-off on Friday night when the public vote is announced.

Finnish broadcaster YLE will be webcasting the semifinals and final next weekend.