Tel Aviv 2019

Spain’s Gala Eurovisión to take place on January 20th

TVE have announced the date of their national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019. The special Gala Eurovisión is due to take place later this month, on January 20th.

Late night show for Spain

We know that Spain enjoys their late night TV shows and Eurovisión Gala will be no exception. The special Operación Triunfo episode will commence at 22:05 CET, according to Eurovision Spain.

Contrary to last year, the show will consist of one round only. Last year, nine songs took part in the show, of which three progressed to a superfinal. This year, the public will have the choice between ten different entries. No jury will vote at the Gala Eurovisión as TVE are opting for 100% televoting.

Ten songs, one winner

A couple of days ago, TVE published the list of entrants for their Gala Eurovisión. All entrants took part in Operación Triunfo this year. The winner of Spain’s beloved talent show was Famous Oberogo. The 19 year old has also made the cut for the national final.

Three acts were chosen for the national final through a public vote. Those were Maria, Natalia and Noelia. A special committee then chose seven further acts to take part, which means the complete list looks as follows:

  • Sabela – “Hoy soñaré”
  • Noelia – “Hoy vuelvo a reír otra vez”
  • Natalia – “La clave”
  • Miki – “La venda”
  • Maria – “Muérdeme”
  • Natalia y Miki – “Nadie se salva”
  • Famous – “No puedo más”
  • Julia – “Qué quieres que haga”
  • Carlos Right – “Se te nota”
  • Marilia – “Todo bien”

Last year, Amaia and Alfred won the Spanish national final. The two Operación Triunfo laureates sang their song “Tu Canción” in Lisbon. They finished in 23rd in the Grand Final.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.