National final announced for 1 March

TVR has today confirmed Romania’s participation in the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest and announced that “Selecția Națională” will again be the format used to select the entry.
Composers have from 15 January to 14 February to submit entries, which will be whittled down to a maximum of twelve songs by a pre-selection jury on 20 February. “Selecția Națională pentru Eurovision 2014” will take place on 1 March. It will consist only of a grand final, with the performance of the songs in front of a live studio audience and the result being made in a single show.
Among the artists that had already publicly signalled an intent to contest Romania’s national selection for 2014 are Paula Seling and Ovi Cernăuţeanu who have released this teaser of their submission, ‘Miracle’; a phone video from the recording studio gives more clues about the song’s chorus. Anca Florescu intends to compete with ‘Hearts Collide, whilst the first winner of Romania’s ‘The Voice’ competition, Stefan Stan will collaborate with TeddyK to enter ‘Breathe‘. The song is composed by Eduard Carcota who had created Tornerò for Mihai Trăistariu in 2006.
Romania has twice achieved third place in the Eurovision Song Contest (2010 with Paula and Ovi as well as 2005 with Luminita Anghel and Sistem) and seeks its first victory in 2014.

Back to top button