Copenhagen 2014

Marcel Bezençon Awards winners revealed

As is traditional, the Marcel Bezençon Awards were given out this year. The three awards, a Press Award, an Artistic Award and the Composer Award were split between the top two of last night’s final: Austria and The Netherlands.
The Press Award, the award voted on by accredited press and media in the Copenhagen press centre, was won by the winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2014: Austria’s Conchita Wurst and her Rise Like A Phoenix.
The Artistic Award, an award for the best performer(s) in the contest was voted on by the commentators of this year’s Eurovision. In the end, the Dutch duo, The Common Linnets, consisting of Ilse DeLange and Waylon, managed to win that award for their rendition of Calm After The Storm.
Finally, there’s the Composer Award for the most original composition in the contest. All participating composers voted for this award and they also picked the Dutch entry Calm After The Storm, performed by The Common Linnets, as their winner. The song was composed by JB Meijers, Ilse DeLange, Matthew Crosby, Rob Crosby and Jake Etheridge.
The Marcel Bezençon Awards were created by Sweden’s Christer Björkman back in 2002, named after the founder of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Nick van Lith

I'm one of the founding members of Eleven years after the start, I'm proud to say that I am now the Editor-in-Chief of this wonderful website. When I'm not doing Eurovision stuff, you should be able to find me teaching German to kids... And cheering on everything and everyone Greek, pretty much. Pame Ellada!

Related Articles

Back to top button