Vienna 2015

It’s official – 39 to Vienna

With just over a week left in 2014, the EBU has presented the final list of countries that will participate in the 60th Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna.
The list boasts two more countries than participated in Copenhagen this year. This equates to three nations returning to the contest, being Cyprus, Czech Republic and Serbia while due to financial constraints at home Ukraine have decided to step away for 2015.
This leaves the final list is as follows:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

EBU executive supervisor Jon Ola Sand has praised 2015 host broadcaster ORF with the return to 39 countries stating that “ORF has been a great partner” in getting as many nations to return to the contest and that they have been in close talks to attempt to convince Ukrainian broadcaster NTU to return in 2016.

Liam Clark

I am a founding editor of escXtra who now works as a member of the Estonian Delegation's Press Team. Even though my Xtra days are behind me, I still like writing the odd piece here and there. P.S vote for Estonia 😘 🇪🇪 ❤️

Related Articles

Back to top button