Vienna 2015

NRK reveals MGP participants

Norwegian broadcaster NRK has revealed the entries for this year’s Melodi Grand Prix. Can the country secure a third consecutive top ten position with any of these artists? will update this article as NRK announces more artists. The press conference starts at 11.45 CET and can be followed here.
The competing entries (refresh the page for updates):

  • Alexandra Joner – Cinderella
  • Contrazt – Heaven
  • Erlend Bratland – Thunderstruck
  • Ira Konstantinidis – We Don’t Worry
  • Jenny Langlo – Next To You
  • Karin Park – Human Beings
  • Marie Klåpbakken – Ta Meg Tilbake
  • Mørland & Debrah Scarlett – A Monster Like Me
  • Raylee – Louder
  • Staysman & Lazz – En Godt Stekt Pizza
  • Tor Endresen & Elisabeth Andreassen – All Over The World

Interesting participants are, obviously, Tor Endresen and Elisabeth Andreassen. Bettan won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1985 for Norway as part of Bobbysocks! and was in Eurovision thrice more: in 1982 as part of Chips for Sweden, in 1994 for Norway with Jan Werner Danielsen and in 1996 as a solo participant, also for Norway, coming in second place. Tor Endresen was the 1997 entrant for Norway. His story wasn’t as successful: he finished last with 0 points.
Karin Park is another interesting entrant. She appears as a singer this time, but she gained fame for composing the 2013 entry for Norway, I Feed You My Love. Erlend Bratland’s song was written by Joy and Linnea Deb, who composed You for Robin Stjernberg in 2013 as well as numerous other Melodifestival entries.
NRK has chosen to scrap the semifinals of this year’s MGP. Instead, there will be one show on 14 March. These eleven wil appear there to try and win the right to fly the Norwegian flag in Vienna. The show will be hosted by Silya Nymoen and Kåre Magnus Bergh. A total of 800 entries were received for MGP 2015 between June and September, an increase of 30% over last year’s MGP.
Also interesting is the fact that NRK has chosen to bring the orchestra back to the competition. The Norwegian Radio Orchestra will accompany each entry.
Last year, Norway caused a storm in betting odds when they picked Carl Espen and his Silent Storm. Eventually, Carl Espen finished in eighth place in the Copenhagen final.

Nick van Lith

I'm one of the founding members of Eleven years after the start, I'm proud to say that I am now the Editor-in-Chief of this wonderful website. When I'm not doing Eurovision stuff, you should be able to find me teaching German to kids... And cheering on everything and everyone Greek, pretty much. Pame Ellada!

Related Articles

Back to top button