Kyiv 2017

Portugal: Festival da Canção dates and composers announced

The national public broadcaster of Portugal, RTP, has published the rules of Festival da Canção 2017. The Portuguese broadcaster has again placed its trust in this competition to choose the country’s representative for Eurovision, and today the list of composers that have been invited to join the songs team of the 51st edition of Festival da Canção has been revealed.
The sixteen competing songs will be divided in two semifinals that will take place on the 19th and 26th of February. The final that will determine who will be the 51st Portuguese representative in Eurovision will be broadcast on March 5th . A professional jury will be in charge of choosing the finalists, while the audience will have all the responsibility for choosing the winner of the final.
These are the chosen composers:

  • Luísa Sobral
  • Márcia
  • Rita Redshoes
  • David Santos (Noiserv)
  • Celina da Piedade
  • Samuel Úria
  • Nuno Gonçalves (The Gift)
  • Pedro Silva Martins (Deolinda)
  • Tóli César Machado (GNR)
  • João Pedro Coimbra (Mesa)
  • Nuno Figueiredo (Virgem Suta)
  • Pedro Saraiva (Sir Aiva/D.R. Sax)
  • Nuno Feist
  • Jorge Fernando
  • João Só
  • Héber Marques

RTP held a meeting with the invited composers, who will be in charge of choosing the artists. The allocation draw and the singers announcement will take place on January. The last time Portugal competed was in 2015 with Leonor Andrade and the song ‘Há Um Mar Que Nos Separa’.

Joel Artigas

I am a politics student and geopolitics lover who lives and breathes Eurovision every single day of the year. I also love blasting schlager on my headphones while wearing an unamused face.

Comments on Portugal: Festival da Canção dates and composers announced

Related Articles

Back to top button