Kyiv 2017

Denmark reveals its finalists for Melodi Grand Prix

DR has revealed the ten acts hoping to represent Denmark in the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Kiev, which will compete in this year’s Melodi Grand Prix. Following their two consecutive failures to make it to the final with two boy bands, the country has decided to take a drastic turn by introducing a new voting system.
The broadcaster held a press conference where the ten acts that will compete in the Danish national selection, Melodi Grand Prix, were revealed; the list surprisingly includes mostly solo artists with only one duo in the list.
These are the ten acts competing in the selection, along with their composers/lyricists:

  1. Ida Una“One” (Peter Bjørnskov, Lene Dissing)
  2. Thomas Ring “Vesterbro” (Thomas Ring)
  3. Rikke Skytte“Color My World” (Mads Løkkegaard, Joël Pagiël MacDonald, Mohamed Alitou, Laura Kloos)
  4. Anja “Where I Am” (Anja Nissen, Angel Tupai, Michael D’Arcy)
  5. Calling Mercury“Big Little Lies” (Thomas Sardorf, Rune Braager, Martin Luke Brown)
  6. Anthony “Smoke In My Eyes” (Kim Nowak-Zorde, Kasper Larsen, Hans Petersen, Ollie Marland, Phil Plested)
  7. René Machon“Warriors” (Astrid Cordes, Alexander Grandjean, Hans Petersen, Lars Andersen)
  8. Sada Vidoo“Northern Lights” (Christoffer Lauridsen, Andreas Öhrn, Alessandra Günthardt)
  9. Jeanette Bonde“Hurricane” (Jeanette Bonde, Alexander Grandjean, Jeppe Pilgaard Ulrichsen, Nermin Harambasic)
  10. Johanna Beijbom“A.S.A.P.” (Peter Wallevik, Daniel Heløy Davidsen, Patrick Devine, Dimitri Stassos, Freja Jonsson Blomberg, Christian Fast)
Montage of the contestants taking part in Denmark’s Melodi Grand Prix 2017.

Big names included in this year’s show

The list includes The Voice of Australia winner Anja Nissen, who lost to Lighthouse X in last year’s selection, as well as two X Factor winners, Thomas Ring (2010 winner) and Anthony (2014 winner). René Machon, who competed in DMGP 2015 with “Mi amore”, also makes his return to the competition. Johanna Beijbom will be trying to compete as a main vocalist this time after taking part as a backing vocalist for Sweden in 2012, Georgia in 2013 and Denmark in 2015. Rikke Skytte and Ida Una, who broke through their YouTube channels, are to make their big stage debut during the selection. Fans may also be familiar with Sada Vidoo who left quite the impression to the judges of the British X Factor last season as the ‘living doll’.
The winner of the selection will be selected in a different way this year; the jury has been replaced with a panel of five Danish fan-experts which will represent 50% of the result in both the first and second round. The rest 50% of the result will be up to the public voting in both rounds.
The competing songs are to be revealed on 20 February 2017 while the selection will take place five days later, on 25 February 2017 in the Jyske Bank Boxen Arena in Herning. It will be hosted by Annette Heick and Lighthouse X member Johannes Nymark.

Dimitris Ioannou

I'm Dimitris, from Cyprus. Eurovision has been a big part of my life for so long now. My first memories of the contest go back to 2005, which was a special year as Greece had won with Helena Paparizou. But 2009 was truly the first year I became a die-hard Eurofan, which is why that year holds a special place in my heart.

Comments on Denmark reveals its finalists for Melodi Grand Prix

Related Articles

Back to top button