Kyiv 2017

Slovenia: Song titles and running order revealed for EMA 2017

Earlier today, RTVSLO revealed the final details of Slovenia’s 2017 Eurovision Song Contest selection EMA. At the beginning of December, RTVSLO revealed the 16 acts that would compete. Now, they have revealed the competing songs and the composers and songwriters behind the entries. In addition, the broadcaster has revealed the running orders for both semi-finals of EMA 2017. It is worth noting that amongst the original line-up was Amaya (Maja Keuc). She recently pulled out of the competition and was replaced by Clemens.

The semi-final details

The two semi-finals will take place on 17th and 18th February and the final will follow on 24th February. Four acts will qualify from each semi-final. Two qualifiers will be chosen by the public televote and two more will be chosen by the jury. In the final, the winner will be chosen by a combination of 50% televoting and 50% jury voting.

Semi-final one
  1. KiNG FOO – Wild Ride
    (Music and lyrics: Rok Golob & Cherie Lucas)
  2. Nika Zorjan – FSE
    (Music and lyrics: Maraaya & Nika Zorjan)
  3. Tosca Beat – Free World
    (Music and lyrics: Andraž Kržič, Tosco Beat, Peter Penko & Jamirko)
  4. Lea Sirk – Freedom
    (Music and lyrics: Lea Sirk, Gaber Radojevič, Miha Gorše & Tomy Declerque)
  5. Sell Out – Ni panike
    (Music and lyrics: Miha Gorše, Uroš Obranovič & Tina Muc)
  6. Zala Đurić Ribič – Lalalatino
    (Music and lyrics: Zala, Krešimir Tomec &Luka Ipavec)
  7. Alya – Halo
    (Music and lyrics: Raay, Rok Lunaček & Tina Piš)
  8. Omar Naber – On My Way
    (Music and lyrics: Omar Naber & Žiga Pirnat)

Semi-Final Two

  1. Clemens – Tok ti sede
    (Music and lyrics: Klemen Mramor)
  2. Raiven – Zažarim
    (Music and lyrics: Jernej Kržič, Tadej Košir & Sara Briški Cirman)
  3. Kataya & Duncan Kamakana – Are You There
    (Music and lyrics: Tim Žibrat, Duman Kamakana, Kataya, Blaž Vrečko, Klemen Orter & Samo Jezovšek)
  4. BQL – Heart of Gold
    (Music and lyrics: Maraaya & Anej Piletič)
  5. Ina Shai – Colour Me
    (Music and lyrics: Martina Šraj, Hans Kristjan Aljas, Vincenzo Capodivento & Niccolo Rebecchi)
  6. United Pandaz & ARSELLO feat. Alex Volasko – Heart to Heart
    (Music and lyrics: ARSELLO & Alex Volasko)
  7. Tim Kores – Open Fire
    (Music and lyrics: Jeff Lewis & Drew Lawrence)
  8. Nuška Drašček – Flower in the Snow
    (Music and lyrics: Pele Loriano, Lina Button & Brendan Wade)

A return, of sorts, for Maraaya!

Most notably amongst the line-ups are the contributions from Raay and Marjetka Vovk, most commonly known as Maaraya. They themselves represented Slovenia in the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest. Their song Here For You finished 14th in the grand final in Vienna. In addition they have played a part in several other Slovenian entries in recent years including Tinkara Kovač’s 2014 Eurovision entry and Slovenia’s 2014 and 2015 Junior Eurovision entries. The latter of these, Prva ljubezen by Lina Kuduzović, remains Slovenia’s best result at any Eurovision Song Contest. Lina finished in 3rd place behind eventual winner Destiny Chukunyere.
Slovenia will take part in the second half of the first-semi final at the Eurovison Song Contest in May. They will be hoping to make a return to the final after ManuElla finished 14th in the second semi-final last year.
Are you excited for EMA 2017? Do you think Slovenia have what it takes to return to the grand final? Let us know in the comments section below and via our Facebook and Twitter pages @escXtra!

Ryan Cobb

My first memory of watching the Eurovision Song Contest was back in 2001 and, over the years, my passion and enthusiasm for the contest has very much turned into an obsession. I adore music and I love geography, so this contest is a natural fit for me. If la la loving Eurovision was a crime, I'd certainly be a criminal!

Comments on Slovenia: Song titles and running order revealed for EMA 2017

Related Articles

Back to top button