Kyiv 2017

Live: Europe starts voting now… for the very last time in 2017! Sweden, Iceland, Norway and Lithuania select for Eurovision 2017

After a marathon national final season, tonight the public will make their final few decisions. A busy week is ahead for all 43 delegations heading to Kyiv, Ukraine, as they must submit their entries, performance ideas and staging requirements in the coming days. First, Sweden, Iceland, Norway and Lithuania need to decide who they will be sending to the Eurovision Song Contest 2017.
Sweden - Melodifestivalen 2017 - Final
Friends Arena will be the stage for undoubtedly one of the most popular national finals of the season. Melodifestivalen is entering the last of their six weeks and with former Eurovision winner Loreen (and obviously Charlotte Perrelli) being left out of the final, the field seems to be relatively open with Wiktoria as slight frontrunner in this national final.
The voting process is unchanged. The viewers and international juries will vote and the winner will be determined as the song with the most points. The international jury vote will be awarded first. These 11 juries will award points 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 to their favourite entries. A total of 473 points will be awarded by the juries.  The public vote is made up of several different methods; they can vote up to five times per song using the official Melodifestivalen app, or by the more traditional methods of telephone and SMS. This vote is then translated into a percentage of the available points, another 473.
This year’s international juries will then come from Armenia, Austria, the United Kingdom, France, Israel, Italy, Malta, Norway, Poland, the Czech Republic and Ukraine.
The show will be blogged by Nathan Waddell and Matteo Manta tonight, but there will surely be a contribution or two from other editors as well… Check out the running order below:

  1. Ace Wilder – Wild Child
  2. Boris René – Her Kiss
  3. Lisa Ajax –  I Don’t Give A
  4. Robin Bengtsson – I Can’t Go On
  5. Jon Henrik Fjällgren feat. Aninia – En värld full av strider (Eatneme gusnie jeenh dåaroeh)
  6. Anton Hagman – Kiss You Goodbye
  7. Mariette – A Million Years
  8. FO&O – Gotta Thing About You
  9. Nano – Hold On
  10. Wiktoria – As I Lay Me Down
  11. Benjamin Ingrosso – Good Lovin’
  12. Owe Thörnqvist – Boogieman Blues

Iceland - Söngvakeppnin 2017 - Final
After two semifinals, seven acts are left to compete for the Icelandic ticket to Ukraine. Six of them qualified directly and Hildur received a wildcard for the final with her Bammbaramm. It is expected that all entrants will perform their entries in English tonight. The big favourite for tonight is Svala with her song Paper. Can anyone beat her?
After a first round of voting, the top two entries will progress to a superfinal. We expect the winner to be known around 23:20 CET tonight, making Söngvakeppnin the last ending national final of the season.
Hlynur Sigurðsson and Wivian Renee Kristiansen will be guiding you throught tonight’s show. Check out the list of entrants tonight below!

  1. Aron Hannes Emilsson – Tonight
  2. Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir – Again
  3. Aron Brink – Hypnotised
  4. Hildur Kristin Stefánsdóttir – Bammbaramm
  5. Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson – Make Your Way Back Home
  6. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – Paper
  7. Daði Freyr Pétursson – Is This Love?

Norway - Melodi Grand Prix - Final
In contrast to Lithuania, Norway like to keep it short, as they only need one night to select their entry for Eurovision. Ten acts have been picked by NRK to fight for the ticket to Kyiv. Former Eurovision entrant Åge Sten Nilsen is back with his new band Ammunition. Can he win the ticket again or will he lose out to early favourites Kristian Valen and Elin & The Woods?
For the first time, ten international juries will give their points in the Norwegian final. With juries giving points 1-8, 10 and 12 to their favourites, 580 points in total will be divided up between the songs by the international jury vote. The public will then also give a total of 580 points out to their favourite songs, decided by televote during the show. The four entries with the most points at this stage will go to the superfinal. The international juries taking part in Melodi Grand Prix are Armenia, Austria, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Malta, Sweden and the United Kingdom.
Sara Ericsson and Nick van Lith will blog from home tonight, with Wivian Renee Kristiansen being in the MGP press centre to give us the latest updates live from Norway.
Check out the running order:

  1. Ulrikke – Places
  2. Jenny Augusta – I Go Where You Go
  3. Rune Rudberg Band – Run Run Away
  4. Jowst feat. Aleksander Walmann – Grab the Moment
  5. Kristian Valen – You & I
  6. In Fusion – Nothing Ever Knocked Us Over
  7. Amina Sewali – Mesterverk
  8. Ammunition – Wrecking Crew
  9. Elin & The Woods – First Step in Faith (Oadjebasvuhtii)
  10. Ella – Mama’s Boy

Lithuania - Eurovizijos - Final
Lithuania started ages ago with their national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. Seven acts are left in the competition, where Fusedmarc are one of the favourites to win the ticket to Kyiv. A jaw dropping moment will be when Gytis Ivanauskas (Lolita Zero) enters the stage. Who will follow in Donny Montell’s footsteps? Can Lithuania score another top ten result with any of these seven entries? Sophie Haustein will be guiding you through tonight’s show. The following seven acts will be competing:

  1. Paula – Let U Go
  2. Gabrielius Vagelis – Feel Myself Free
  3. Greta Zazza – Like I Love You
  4. Fusedmarc – Rain of Revolution
  5. Aistė Pilvelytė – I’m Like a Wolf
  6. Gytis Ivanauskas – Get Frighten
  7. Kotryna Juodzevičiūtė – Love Shadow

Live coverage

You will not need to refresh this page, the live updates will automatically appear.

Live: Sweden

Reported by Nathan, Matteo & Dan

Live: Iceland

Reported by Wivian

Live: Norway

Reported by Nick & Sara

Live: Lithuania

Reported by Sophie

Comments on Live: Europe starts voting now… for the very last time in 2017! Sweden, Iceland, Norway and Lithuania select for Eurovision 2017

Back to top button