Tbilisi 2017

Belarus: Ten Junior Eurovision finalists revealed

Belarus released their national selection for Junior Eurovision 2017 a month ago. So, just like promised, the line up for the national final was revealed earlier today. 45 hopeful acts performed a grand total of 48 songs in front of a jury. The jury then went on to select 10 finalists that will battle it out for a golden ticket to Georgia.

Finalists (in alphabetical order)

  1. Anastasiya Timofeyevich
  2. Anastasiya Zhabko
  3. Ariny Pekhterevoy & Anastasii Dmitrachkovoy
  4. Elina Mataras
  5. Khelena Meraai
  6. Kvartet Natsionalnogo tsentra detskogo tvorchestva im.V.Mulyavina
  7. Mariya Zhilina
  8. Ruslana Panchishina
  9. Stefaniya Sokolova
  10. Yaroslav Sokolikov

Most noteworthy amongst the jury members we find Uzari (Belarus 2015). He helped choose the finalists with 6 other jurors who ranged from composers to singers and the deputy director of Belarus 1, Olga Salamakha.
BTRC has said the entry would be chosen sometime before September 16th. However, the final date for the national selection remains unknown. As a result, it looks like it’s now a waiting game to see who will represent Belarus in Tbilisi later this year.

Belarus in Junior Eurovision

Amongst 5 podium finishes, the country has won the whole contest twice: in 2005 with Ksenia Sitnik and in 2007 with Alexey Zhigalkovich. Also, last year Alexander Minyonok finished in a respectable 7th place. As a result, there will be big shoes to fill for whoever goes to Georgia. Due to this, it’s not unthinkable that BTRC are working hard to find a worthy successor.

Do you have high hopes for Belarus this year? Share your opinions in the comment section below!

Comments on Belarus: Ten Junior Eurovision finalists revealed

Related Articles

Back to top button