Tbilisi 2017

Hungary will not make their Junior Eurovision debut in Tbilisi

MTVA, Hungary’s national broadcaster, has confirmed that they have no plans to make their Junior Eurovision Song Contest debut in 2017. The broadcaster confirmed this to noticiasesc.com. The 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place on 26th November in the Georgian capital city of Tbilisi.

A decision was expected before the end of July

Hungary previously didn’t rule out making their debut in this year’s contest, with MTVA stating that a final decision would be made by the end of July. The Hungarian broadcaster has stuck to their word, but unfortunately didn’t provide the news we all wanted!

12 participants so far

So far, 12 countries have confirmed their provisional participation in this year’s Junior Eurovision. These are as follows:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • F.Y.R. Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • The Netherlands
  • Ukraine

A few countries are yet to make their minds up

Last year, 17 countries took to the stage in Valletta. Five participating countries from last year have yet to announce whether they plan to enter this year or withdraw from the competition. These are as follows:

  • Australia
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Israel
  • Poland

Are you disappointed by Hungary’s decision? Furthermore, how many countries do you think will take to the stage in Tbilisi? Let us know in the comments below and via our social media pages @ESCXTRA!

Ryan Cobb

My first memory of watching the Eurovision Song Contest was back in 2001 and, over the years, my passion and enthusiasm for the contest has very much turned into an obsession. I adore music and I love geography, so this contest is a natural fit for me. If la la loving Eurovision was a crime, I'd certainly be a criminal!

Comments on Hungary will not make their Junior Eurovision debut in Tbilisi

Related Articles

Back to top button