Eurovision Young Dancers

Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 will be taking place in Prague

After successfully hosting the 2015 contest, Czech Republic will once again host the Eurovision Young Dancers in the Czech Republic. 
The contest will be taking place on the 16th December 2017 at the Forum Hall of Prague Congress Centre and will be hosted by Libor Boucek once again.

The 2015 contest was won by Viktoria Nowak from Poland

Eight countries have been confirmed for Prague

The following countries have been confirmed for the contest and these include:

  • Czech TV (Host Broadcaster)
  • WDR (Germany)
  • PBS Ltd. (Malta)
  • NRK (Norway)
  • TVP (Poland)
  • RTP (Portugal)
  • RTV (Slovenia)
  • SVT (Sweden)

Following Portugal’s success in this years Eurovision Song Contest, RTP has decided to return to Eurovision Young Dancers, it has last participated in 2011.

“An important competition for young dancers”

On the confirmation of the host city, Jon Ola Sand has mentioned the importance of the contest:

“This is an important competition for young dancers on the threshold of a professional career.

The EBU is thrilled to celebrate the vitality and eclecticism of the modern dance scene together with our Member broadcasters. We look forward to finding Europe’s newest dance star in Prague”

How does the competition work?

The rules of the contest can be found below:

  • Participants must be aged between 16 and 21 years old in the year of the competition, and not be professionally engaged.
  • Participants may be soloists or couples
  • Each act performs a solo act that they have prepared in advance of the competition in any style they choose
  • Each act is then part of a group dance which is choreographed during ‘Young Dancers Week’ by an independent, professional choreographer
  • A professional jury representing the three elements of dance (ballet, contemporary, and modern) scores each individual performance, and the group dances.
  • Two acts are selected to the final round by the jury, where they must perform a spontaneous dance during a 90 second ‘dual’. Both dancers have 45 seconds each during the dual and take it in turns to ‘dace off’ against each other
  • The jury chooses a winner from the final two, who is crowned ‘Eurovision Young Dancers’

What do you think of the announcement? Are you going to watch the Eurovision Young Dancers this year? Leave us your opinions and thoughts below or on social media @ESCXTRA

Tim Jumawan

I started watching Eurovision ever since I moved to the UK in 2006, obsessed since 2012 and haven't looked back since.
Back to top button