Tbilisi 2017

RTP’s Festival da Canção Júnior returns for JESC

Portugeese broadcaster RTP have announced the return of Festival da Canção Júnior to decide their participant for the Junior Eurovision Song Sontest 2017.
Portugal last participated in Junior Eurovision ten years ago, using the same ‘Festival da Canção Júnior’ selection process. The show’s final will take place on the 5th October.

Five singers for the Festival da Canção Júnior national final

The five young artists chosen by RTP are as follows. (in running order)

  1. Filipa Ferreira
  2. Mariana Leite
  3. Margarida Lima
  4. Duarte Valença
  5. Mariana Venâncio

TV show ‘A Praça’ will introduce the five artists over five days with the first next week on 25th September.
The winner will represent Portugal in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Tbilisi, Georgia. Portugal has only entered the contest twice and was last represented by Jorge Leiria in 2007 and Pedro Madeira in 2006.
Are you happy to see Portugal back in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest? Can Portugal repeat the success of this year’s Eurovision? Let us know in the comments below or on social media @escXtra!

Tom O'Donoghue

Music photographer based in Somerset, United Kingdom. Photographer for London Eurovision Party.

Comments on RTP’s Festival da Canção Júnior returns for JESC

Related Articles

Back to top button