Lisbon 2018

Malta: Here are the 16 finalists

Malta’s national broadcaster, PBS, has announced the sixteen artists who will compete in next year’s Malta Eurovision Song Contest. It makes them the first country to announce their hopefuls ahead of the 2018 season.

Familiar faces are back

As always with Malta, there are some familiar names among the lineup. Brooke Borg has competed in Malta Eurovision Song Contest twice before. She came 2nd in 2016 and came a very respectable 4th place in 2017. Will it be third time lucky? Christabelle has also competed before and was runner up in 2015. Other familiar names include Deborah C, Jasmine Abela, Eleanor Cassar, Danica Muscat and Lawrence Gray. Check out the final list below:

  1. Dai Laga – Aidan
  2. We Can Run – Avenue Sky
  3. Heart Of Gold – Brooke Borg
  4. Taboo – Christabelle Borg
  5. One Step At A Time – Danica Muscat
  6. Turn It Up – Deborah C
  7. Back to Life – Eleanor Cassar
  8. Supernovas – Jasmine Abela
  9. Love Renegade – Lawrence Gray
  10. Call 2morrow – Matthew Anthony
  11. Breaking Point – Mikhail Attard and Cherylis Camilleri
  12. Rocket – Miriana Conte
  13. Evolution – Petra
  14. Beyond Blue Horizons – Rhiannon Micallef
  15. Song For Dad – Richard & Joe Micallef
  16. First Time – Tiziana Calleja

Despite Janice Mangion achieving 2nd place and being a fan favourite in 2017 with a song entirely in Maltese, it appears there are no entries sung in Maltese this year. More details will be revealed in due course although it is expected Malta will select their representative in February. The show will be held at either the Mediterranean Conference Center in Valletta or Malta Fairs & Convention Centre in Ta’Qali.

Malta in Eurovision

Malta is now the country that participated the longest without winning, since Portugal won for the first time in Kyiv earlier this year. The Mediterranean island debuted in 1971 and are still to take the trophy. Nevertheless, they have come 2nd on two occasions – in 2002 and 2005, respectively. Claudia Faniello represented Malta in 2017 with her stunning ballad ‘Breathlessly’ however failed to qualify for the final.

Can Malta finally win next year? Who would you like to see represent Malta? Leave us your comments below and stay tuned for more information regarding the upcoming national final season!

Comments on Malta: Here are the 16 finalists

Related Articles

Back to top button