Lisbon 2018

42 countries to take part in Eurovision 2018!

EBU has just revealed that 42 countries will take part in the Eurovision Song Contest 2018. That means Eurovision 2018 will have the same number of participants as Kyiv had in 2017. Except one country returns, another seems to withdraw…

Russia to return, FYR Macedonia not on the list

Russia’s Channel One is making a return to the Eurovision Song Contest. Last year, RTR was supposed to take part in Kyiv, but they withdrew (or were excluded, whichever way one sees it) shortly before the contest. Channel One, the other Russian channel, will once again take up the responsibility of sending an act to Eurovision. Their latest Eurovision effort was Sergey Lazarev’s You’re The Only One in 2016.
On the other hand, sad news from FYR Macedonia. After a true soap in the past few weeks, their broadcaster MRT is not on the list of participants. To some, this may be a surprise. We know there were sanctions EBU imposed on MRT, but the latest report said those sanctions had been lifted. In’s article, there is no mention whatsoever of a Macedonian withdrawal, nor anything about their situation… Is the door still open for them?
In much less surprising news, there will also be no débuts in Eurovision 2018. Previous reports of Kosovo and Kazakhstan aiming for a début can be put to rest for another year, whereas we know that Liechtenstein are aiming for a 2019 début. Not surprising is also the fact that Australia have accepted the invitation to participate for the fourth year in a row.

Eurovision 2018 – Business as usal?

For the other 41 broadcasters, it seems to be business as usual. They were all there last year and most of them have attended the contest for years. For Sweden, this will mark their sixtieth participation in the contest.
Below you can see the list of all countries, including artists, if they’re already known:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI TV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT) – Laura Groeseneken
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CYBC)
  • Czech Republic (CT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE) – Saara Aalto
  • France (France Télévisions)
  • Germany (ARD/NDR)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTE)
  • Israel (IPBC/KAN)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (C1R)
  • San Marino (RTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

As soon as there is more news from FYR Macedonia, we’ll post it right here on! For now, who are you most excited about? Which country, do you think, will deliver for Eurovision 2018? Let us know!

Nick van Lith

I'm one of the founding members of Eleven years after the start, I'm proud to say that I am now the Editor-in-Chief of this wonderful website. When I'm not doing Eurovision stuff, you should be able to find me teaching German to kids... And cheering on everything and everyone Greek, pretty much. Pame Ellada!

Comments on 42 countries to take part in Eurovision 2018!

Related Articles

Back to top button