Lisbon 2018

UK: Måns Zelmerlöw to co-host ‘Eurovision: You Decide’

Moments ago, the BBC confirmed that ‘Eurovision: You Decide 2018’ will be held at the Brighton Dome. Eurovision 2015 winner Måns Zelmerlöw will host alongside Mel Giedroyc. 

Eurovision: You Decide 2018

The show will be broadcast on BBC 2. ‘Eurovision: You Decide 2018’ will be held on 7th February and tickets can be purchased here. Interestingly, 2018 will be the first time a British national final has been held outside of London.

The BBC have announced some details of the format for the show:

Our 90-minute show will feature performances of six brand new songs. The performers will take to the stage in a bid to impress both the viewers at home and a professional jury at Brighton Dome. They will compete for the honour of representing the United Kingdom at the Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Lisbon, Portugal.

A panel of experts will be on hand to provide their critique about the songs and the artists, and how they could translate the performance in Portugal for the Grand Final next May. The winner will be revealed on the night after a live public vote. The six competing songs and artists will be revealed to the public in January 2018.

There is also confirmation that BBC Four will broadcast both live semi-finals of the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 on Tuesday 8 and Thursday 10 May. The Grand Final will be broadcast on BBC One on Saturday 12 May 2018.

Brighton Dome’s history with Eurovision

ABBA famously won Eurovision 1974, when the contest was held in the Brighton Dome and therefore the concert hall has a special relationship with the contest.  Last year, Lucie Jones won ‘Eurovision: You Decide’ and flew the British flag in Kyiv. She came 17th place with her emotional ballad ‘I Will Never Give Up On You’.

Who would you like to see represent the United Kingdom next year? Can Britain achieve their sixth win in Lisbon?

Stay tuned to escXtra for all the latest news regarding the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest! 

Related Articles

Back to top button