Eurovision Young Dancers

Paulina Bidzińska wins Eurovision Young Dancers 2017

Paulina Bidzińska last night won Eurovision Young Dancers 2017, giving Poland their second consecutive win and third overall. The show took place in Czech Republic’s capital, Prague – their second time hosting the competition. 
The show was hosted by Libor Bouček and Angeé Klára Svobodová live from the Congress Centre in Prague.
The eight participants were:

  • Norway – Anna Louise Amundsen
  • Germany – Danila Kapustin
  • Malta – Denise Buttigieg
  • Portugal – Raquel Fidalgo
  • Poland – Paulina Bidzińska
  • Slovenia – Patricija Crnkovič
  • Sweden – Christoffer Collins
  • Czech Republic – Michal Vach

For the competition each of the participants performed a group dance and a two-minute solo dance. Daria Klimentová, Ambra Succi and Itzik Galili were the jury members for the evening. They assessed the dancers based on factors such as the choreography, the quality of the dance and artistic expression. The jury selected two dancers to progress to the final round. Paulina Bidzińska (Poland) and Patricija Crnkovič (Slovenia) were selected and had 45 seconds to impress the jury.

What is Eurovision Young Dancers?

The competition is a biennial event, first held in 1985. It is open to young dancers aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a dance of their choosing for the jury. The jury selects two acts to go through to the final round consisting of each act having 45 seconds to perform and impress the jury. The jury selects the winner from the two finalists.

Tom O'Donoghue

Music photographer based in Somerset, United Kingdom. Photographer for London Eurovision Party.
Back to top button