Eurovision Young Musicians

18 countries to take part in Eurovision Young Musicians 2018

The EBU have announced and confirmed that 18 countries will be taking part at Eurovision Young Musicians 2018, the highest number since 2006.
This year Eurovision Young Musicians will take place in Edinburgh (UK) from 18 – 23 August, hosted by BBC Scotland and BBC Radio 3. The international classical music event has been held every two years since 1982.
With the larger amount of participants comes the return of the semi-final elimination round. Public chamber recitals at St. Cecilia’s Hall will take place with all contestants on 18th and 19th August. The final concert will take place at Edinburgh’s iconic Usher Hall on 23rd August, with the musicians accompanied by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra under their principal conductor Thomas Dausgaard.

Albania debuts, Spain back after 16 years

This year will be Albania’s debut at the contest. Returning countries to the contest include: Belgium (2006), Estonia (2004), Greece (2014), Israel (1986), Russia (2010), Spain (2002) and the hosts United Kingdom (2010). Austria, who is the most successful country in the contest with five wins, will not take part for the first time since 1982.
The full list of 18 participating countries are as follows:

  • Albania – RTSH
  • Belgium – RTBF
  • Croatia – HRT
  • Czech Republic – ČT
  • Estonia – ERR
  • Germany – WDR
  • Greece – ERT
  • Hungary – MTVA
  • Israel – IPBC
  • Malta – PBS
  • Norway – NRK
  • Poland – TVP
  • Russia – RTR
  • San Marino – SMRTV
  • Slovenia – RTVSLO
  • Spain – RTVE
  • Sweden – SVT
  • United Kingdom – BBC

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016

Germany hosted Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 in Cologne with 11 participating countries. Łukasz Dyczko from Poland was chosen as the winner of the contest. Łukasz Dyczko from Poland is the winner of Eurovision Young Musicians 2016!Łukasz Dyczko from Poland is the winner of Eurovision Young Musicians 2016!

Tom O'Donoghue

Music photographer based in Somerset, United Kingdom. Photographer for London Eurovision Party.
Back to top button