Tel Aviv 2019

42 countries will participate in Eurovision 2019

The EBU have announced that 42 countries will participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel.

No big surprises as most of the usual countries will be taking part next year in 2019. The Big Five – United Kingdom, France, Spain, Italy and Germany – will all be returning. Russia are now confirmed to participate and on the list. 

The one country who will be missed however will be Bulgaria, who announced earlier they will not be participating. Bulgaria have enjoyed a string of great of results in the last three years. Their best was in 2017 when Kristian Kostov’s ‘Beautiful Mess’ came 2nd, just missing out on Bulgaria’s first ever Eurovision win. 

“We already know that dreams come true when we saw Netta Barzilai win the Eurovision Song Contest in May and bring the trophy back to Israel for a third time. Netta allowed us to dare to dream and now, as these dreams are being realised, we can’t wait to host the 42 delegations who will aspire to do the same. All of us at KAN are looking forward to welcoming everyone to an exciting and memorable Eurovision Song Contest that will be watched by millions of viewers in Israel and across the globe.”

Eldad Koblenz, CEO of KAN

Participating countries

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (İctimai TV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (RTBF)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CYBC)
  • Czech Republic (ČT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (FT)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Germany (ARD/NDR)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IPBC/KAN)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (SMRTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (RTVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

Who are you most excited about? Which country will you be supporting at Eurovision 2019? Let us know!

Tom O'Donoghue

Music photographer based in Somerset, United Kingdom. Photographer for London Eurovision Party.

Comments on 42 countries will participate in Eurovision 2019

  • EVA

    Poli Genova was much better than Krostov. Krostov got the second place only because the level of the contest was very low and was voted by teenagers. In addition, Krostov was on Eurovision without pre-selection. Krostov has a weak voice.

Back to top button