Tel Aviv 2019

RTVE announces the members of evaluation committee for Gala Eurovision

The process is underway to shortlist 20 submissions for Spain’s Eurovision 2019 entry from the 1000 received. Now RTVE has revealed the names involved in assessing the songs, as we draw nearer to OT 2018’s special Eurovision Gala in January.

Two evaluation committees to assess Gala Eurovision songs

As the finale of Operación Triunfo 2018 approaches, the selection of potential entries for the Eurovision themed Gala special in January is also reaching its final stages. RTVE have now revealed the names who will be involved in shortlisting the 20 songs for the next phase. Amongst the list are members from a range of backgrounds in entertainment and media in Spain. Popular singers, associations such as AEV Spain and OGAE Spain have been invited by RTVE to assess the submissions. As well as this, internal assessment from RTVE Digital, Spain’s Heads of Delegation and teachers from the OT Academy will also take place. As a result there will be two committees evaluating the submitted songs. Firstly a committee to assess the public submissions. Secondly a committee to assess the invited proposals. The names of the jury members are as follows:

Public Submissions Committee

  • Alberto Jiménez (Lead singer of Miss Caffeina)
  • Irene Mahia (RTVE Digital)
  • José Juan Santana (President of OGAE Spain)
  • José Luis Amo (AEV Spain)
  • Zahara (Singer-songwriter)

Invitational Submissions Committee

  • Ana Maria Bordas (Head of Delegation)
  • Antonio Losada (Head of Delegation)
  • Irene Mahia (RTVE Digital)
  • Manu Guix (Musical Director OT 2018)
  • Noemi Galera (Director of Academy OT 2018)

Each committee will shortlist ten songs from their assigned assessment category. After this time, the final list of 20 songs will be presented to the OT 2018 candidates, ahead of the next phase of Spain’s selection process.

Phase two – OT candidates record the songs

Following the conclusion of the shortlist, the OT 2018 candidates will get to work with the composers to record their versions of the chosen songs. Recently we reported on some of the names, such as Ruth Lorenzo, hinting at their interest in submitting a song. Further to this, there will be extra assessment by RTVE and the Academy. Such as matching songs to the vocals of the artists and their music styles.

Soon online voting for the Gala Eurovision songs will open. A one minute version of each of the 20 songs will be published on the RTVE website. During which, the public will have two weeks to vote for their favourite songs in the selection. From this the top three songs in the online vote will advance to January’s live national final. Furthermore an additional seven songs from the remaining 17 entries will also advance. The invitational committee will decide these seven entries. Therefore there will be a total of 10 songs competing in Gala Eurovision. Thus earning the ticket to Tel Aviv and becoming the next Spanish hopeful in the Eurovision Song Contest.

Who is your OT 2018 favourite? Are you looking forward to January’s Gala Eurovision? Let us know in the comments and on social media @ESCXTRA

Lisa Bird

My first Eurovision memory was watching 1994 as a hatchling. I've been tapping my talons to the bops and bangers from Europe and beyond ever since! I finally spread my wings to attending the contest in Lisbon 2018 and am now a regular at many events and national finals - especially my regular nest at Eesti Laul.

Comments on RTVE announces the members of evaluation committee for Gala Eurovision

Back to top button