Tel Aviv 2019

RTP reveals dates and composers for Festival da Canção 2019

Portugal’s broadcaster RTP have revealed the names of the sixteen composers taking part in Festival da Canção 2019. They have also announced the dates for the three shows, with the final taking place on 2nd March.

From 26 to 16

In last year’s edition of Festival da Canção, RTP invited 26 composers to take part. They’ve gone back to just sixteen for this year. As is traditional in FdC, the composers have the task of finding the singers for their songs themselves. Like every year, one can expect some of these composers to sing their own songs.

Before internally selecting most of the composers, RTP had two other opportunities to make it onto the list. Filipe Keil managed to win the open call for composers, with Mariana Bragada emerging victorious from the masterclass. Below you can see the full list of composers:

  • André Tentúgal
  • Calema
  • Conan Osíris
  • D’Alva
  • D.A.M.A
  • Filipe Keil
  • Flak
  • Frankie Chavez
  • Lura
  • Mariana Bragada
  • Miguel Guedes
  • NBC
  • Rui Maia
  • São Pedro
  • Surma
  • Tiago Machado

Calema and D.A.M.A. early favourites

As soon as the list came out, early favourites already emerged. D.A.M.A. are a three piece boyband, consisting of Francisco Pereira, Miguel Coimbra and Miguel Cristovinho. Of their three released studio albums, two reached #1 in the Portuguese charts, with the third one reaching a peak of #2. They were nominated for the MTV EMA Best Portuguese Act twice in a row, in 2015 and 2016.

The other early favourites are Calema. Two brothers, Fradique and António Mendes, form a duo. They originate from São Tomé e Príncipe and now live in Lisbon, where they release their music. Their 2017 single “A Nossa Vez” has over 64 million views on YouTube. Their latest single was released just two days ago, called “Sombra“.

Final on 2nd March

Where FdC usually took place on a Sunday, RTP have decided to move to Saturdays for next year’s edition. The first semifinal will take place on 16th February, with the second one following a week later on 23rd February. The final has then been set for 2nd March. On the RTP news broadcast tonight, the broadcaster also confirmed the release date for all the songs. You’ll have to wait until 15th January, as that’s when RTP will share the songs with the world.

Portugal will be hoping to improve on this year’s result at the Eurovision Song Contest. On home soil, Cláudia Pascoal (and Isaura) finished in last place in the Grand Final with “O Jardim”. They were automatically qualified for the final in the Altice Arena in Lisbon after Salvador Sobral won the contest in Kyiv with “Amar Pelos Dois” in 2017.

Nick van Lith

I'm one of the founding members of Eleven years after the start, I'm proud to say that I am now the Editor-in-Chief of this wonderful website. When I'm not doing Eurovision stuff, you should be able to find me teaching German to kids... And cheering on everything and everyone Greek, pretty much. Pame Ellada!

Comments on RTP reveals dates and composers for Festival da Canção 2019

Back to top button