Tel Aviv 2019

Lithuania announces the acts that will compete in “Eurovizijos Atranka”

The broadcaster responsible for the Lithuanian participation in the Eurovision Song Contest, LRT has announced the acts that will compete in their National Final Eurovizijos Atranka. The contest will be hild in Tel-Aviv, Israel.

A shortened process.

As we have previously reported, Eurovizijos Atranka will have a drastically reduced process. Unlike in 2016 and 2017 who had 10 shows and 2018 who had 9 shows. In 2019, this will be reduced to seven shows consisting of four Quarter-Finals, two Semi-Finals and one Grand-Final. In the Grand-Final a winner will be announced and thus will represent Lithuania in Tel-Aviv, Israel.

So after a submission process, where artists and songwriters were invited to submit their entries. LRT have reduced the pool to a shortlist of 49 artists. They are as follows.

  1. Audrius Petrauskas – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “In My Bones”
  2. Gabriela Ždanovičiūtė
  3. Twosome – 2018 Semi-Finalists with “Hello”
  4. Glossarium
  5. MaNNazz
  6. Migloko
  7. Rūta Statkevičiūtė
  8. Šarūnas Mačiulis
  9. Aldegunda
  10. Matas Ligeika
  11. Simona Klušienė
  12. Monika Marija
  13. Valdas Lacko – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “Dying Inside”
  14. Original Copy
  15. Donata Virbilaitė – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “Powerful”
  16. Gražvydas Sidiniauskas
  17. Jurgis Brūzga – 2018 Runner-Up with “4love”.
  18. Banzzai
  19. Valerija Iljinaitė
  20. Lukas Bartaška
  21. Justina Budaitė – Backing singer for Donny Montell in 2016
  22. Justina Žukauskaitė – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “Love Doesn’t Lie”
  23. Paulina Paulauskaitė
  24. Tiramisu
  25. Giedrius Nakas
  26. La Forza
  27. Emilija  Gogolytė
  28. Tomas Sinickis
  29. Dagna Kondrotaitė
  30. Antikvariniai Kašpirovskio dantys
  31. Jurgis Didžiulis
  32. Valdemars Petersons
  33. Queens of Roses – 2017 Quarter-Finalists with “Fisherman”
  34. Jurijus Veklenko
  35. Viktorija Vyšniauskaitė
  36. Algirdas Daumantas Ciūnys
  37. Edgaras Lubys – Regular Eurovizijos Atranka entrant
  38. Allen Chicco
  39. Živilė Gedvilaitė – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “Melody”
  40. Soliaris
  41. Saulės kliošas
  42. Laimingu būti lengva
  43. Elizabeth Olshey – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “Bejausmis”
  44. Arvydas Kriščikas
  45. Filtered Tools
  46. Emilija Valiukevičiūtė – 2018 Quarter-Finalist with “Bye Bye”
  47. Indrė Juodeikienė
  48. Sofi
  49. Gabrielė Rybko

The first Quarter-Final will be recorded on 20th December 2018 at 19:00 Lithuanian time. This will be shown on 5th January 2019 at 21:00 Lithuanian time, so 20:00 CET, 19:00 GMT. 

Lithuania in the Eurovision Song Contest.

Debuting in 1994 when Ovidijus Vyšniauskas sang  “Lopšinė mylimai”. Lithuania came Twenty-Fifth and Last-Place with the dubious honour of achieving the infamous “Nill Points”. They have appeared in a further 18 contests, missing the contests in 1995 due to relegation, through to 1998 and missing the contests in 2000 and 2003. 

Lithuania have more often than not qualified for the final, with eight qualifications to six non-qualifications. The Baltic nation’s best result came in Athens in 2006 where LT United performed “We Are The Winners” coming in Sixth-Place with 162 points.

Donny Montell is a notable Lithuanian participant. Being the first and so far only Lithuanian to represent Lithuania more than once. He performed in 2012 with the song “Love Is Blind” coming in Fourteenth-Place, amassing 70 points. He returned to the contest in 2016 likewise in Baku, qualified again for the final. This time doing better with the song “I’ve Been Waiting For This Night”. He came in the Top-10, in Ninth-Place achieving 200 points. This remains Lithuania’s largest points haul to date.

Comments on Lithuania announces the acts that will compete in “Eurovizijos Atranka”

Back to top button