Tel Aviv 2019

HRT reveals the sixteen artists competing in Croatia’s Dora 2019

Croatia’s National Broadcaster, HRT, reveals the shortlist of the sixteen acts competing in this year’s comeback edition of their selection, Dora 2019.

Despite receiving over 170 submissions, the panel of music professionals have settled for sixteen artists and two backup acts in case an act decides to withdraw. The jury consisted of Vanna (Croatia’s Eurovision 2001 representative), Zeljen Krashterka (Croatia’s head of delegation), Antonija Shola (popular singer turned actress), Igor Gerzhina (HRT Producer), Ante Pecotic (composer/producer) and Zlatko Tukalj (Croatia’s Eurovision comentator and radio host).

The sixteen acts competing at Dora 2019

  • Elis Lovrić – All I Really Want (E. Lovrić – E. Lovrić – E. Lovrić/O.Dešić)
  • Luka Nižetić – Amorero Brutarero (B. Mihaljević – M. Mihaljević – B. Mihaljević)
  • Gelato Sisters – Back To The Swing (T. Hrelec – T. Hrelec – T. Hrelec)
  • 4 tenora – Brod bez imena (E. Botrić/M. Šimac – M. Šimac – E. Botrić)
  • Beta Sudar – Don’t Give Up (P. Martinjak – P. Martinjak/M. Johansson – P. Martinjak)
  • Bernarda Bruno – I Believe In True Love (D. Rapotec Ute – T. Bon/B. Brunović – D. Rapotec Ute)
  • Domenika – Indigo (T. Huljić – V. Huljić – L. Škaro/T. Huljić)
  • Manntra – In The Shadows (M. Matijević Sekul/M. Kolarić/B. Kolarić – M. Kolarić/M. Matijević Sekul/B. Kolarić – M. Matijević Sekul)
  • Jure Brkljača – Ne postojim kad nisi tu (M.D. Rus – M.D. Rus – M.D. Rus/M. Blum)
  • Ema Gagro – Redemption (A. Björkman/A. Pupavac/K. Persson/E. Gagro – A. Pupavac – A. Björkman/A. Pupavac/K. Persson/E. Gagro)
  • Lea Mijatović – Tebi pripadam (I. Ivanović/M. Vojvodić – I. Ivanović/M. Vojvodić – I. Ivanović/M. Vojvodić)
  • Lidija Bačić Lille – Tek je počelo (D. Dumančić – Fayo – B. Đurđević)
  • Jelena Bosančić – Tell Me (J. Bosančić – J. Bosančić – J. Bosančić/A. Devčić/H. Domazet)
  • Lorena Bućan – Tower of Babylon (T. Huljić – V. Huljić/I. Huljić –L. Škaro/T. Huljić)
  • Roko Blažević – The Dream (J. Houdek – J. Houdek/C. Mason/A. Čubrić – I. Škunca/F. Gjud)
  • Bojan Jambrošić i Danijela Pintarić – Vrijeme predaje (A.T. Eterović – L. Čeči Baksa – A.T. Eterović)

The backup acts that narrowly missed out on getting the ticket to Opatija:

  • Tonka – Don’t Say You Love Me (S.S. Skansi – S.S. Skansi/A. Šerić – S.S. Skansi)
  • Kim Verson – Nisam to što žele (K. Verson – K. Verson – S. Pasarić)

Here is how it’s gonna work

Dora 2019 will take course over three nights and is going to take place in one of the most well known tourist spots in Croatia, Opatija.

The hosting trio will consist of: Mirko Fodor (famous reporter and the host of Good Morning Croatia on HRT), Iva Shulentic (host of The Voice Croatia) and Jelena Glishic (former Miss Universe Croatia and a TV presenter).

Croatia at the Eurovision Song Contest

Croatia have competed in the contest 24 times as an independent nation. Previously, they competed as Yugoslavia alongside Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. As Yugoslavia, seven of the 27 entries were Croatian, including Riva’s “Rock Me”, which won the contest in 1989.

Croatia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1993, where they were represented by Put with “Don’t Ever Cry”. They finished in 15th place with 31 points. Earlier this year, Croatia was represented by Franka Batelić in Lisbon with “Crazy”, finishing in 17th place in semi-final 1 with 63 points.

Franka performing “Crazy” at the first semi final in Lisbon last year

Croatia’s best result came in 1999 when Doris Dragovic finished 4th in Jerusalem with “Marija Magdalena”, scoring a total of 118 points. Could we see a similar result when the contest returns to Israel next year?

Are you looking forward to the return of Dora in 2019? Who would you like to see represent Croatia? Do you have a pre contest favorite out of these sixteen acts?

Let us know below! Be sure to follow @ESCXTRA on Twitter and like our Facebook page.

Back to top button