Tel Aviv 2019

The draw of the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 semifinals in Tel Aviv is complete!

Today in Tel Aviv, the Israeli city officially took over the hosting duties from Lisbon to host the Eurovision Song Contest this year. Besides the ceremony, EBU also held the draw for the semifinals. 

Six pots, two semis

Before the allocation draw took place, the EBU revealed the pots in which each country would be. The pots are there to split those who, when grouped together, would be more likely to vote for each other.

Examples of such blocks are the Nordic countries, but also the ex-USSR or ex-Yugoslav countries. Certain duos, such as Romania/Moldova and Greece/Cyprus are also in the same pot, but there’s no guarantee that the pot system will actually split them.

As the pots were revealed, we analysed the patterns set out by such pots as the European Broadcasting Union use. You can read our full analysis here.

Semi 1

Besides the eighteen participating broadcasters in this semi, three automatic qualifiers will vote. Big Five members Spain and France will do so, alongside hosts Israel.

First halfSecond half
Czech RepublicGreece
HungarySan Marino

Semi 2

Like in semi 1, three automatic qualifiers will vote in this semi. United Kingdom, Germany and Italy will vote in and broadcast this show.

First halfSecond half
LatviaThe Netherlands
SwedenNorth Macedonia

This article will be updated during the draw. Make sure you refresh to see the latest updates. You can watch the Allocation Draw live below!

Nick van Lith

I'm one of the founding members of Eleven years after the start, I'm proud to say that I am now the Editor-in-Chief of this wonderful website. When I'm not doing Eurovision stuff, you should be able to find me teaching German to kids... And cheering on everything and everyone Greek, pretty much. Pame Ellada!
Back to top button