Tel Aviv 2019

Leonora is Denmark’s pick for Eurovision 2019

Just a few years ago, Denmark won the Eurovision Song Contest with Emmelie de Forest’s Only Teardrops. Tonight, they have chosen their next hopeful to bring the contest back to Denmark: Leonora will represent Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv with Love is Forever. If you loved the cutesy vibe of Lena in 2010, and though that Anne Gadegaard was robbed in Denmark’s 2015 selection, you are bound to adore this!

Leonora – Love is Forever

Leonora Colmor Jepsen is only 20 years old but has already won a number of awards, not just for her music but her ice skating too (2008’s Dima Bilan is shook)! For many years now, Leonora has wrote her own songs, which she performs at cafés, libraries and at intimate concerts. Now, she is recording a number of songs with other songwriters (such as Love is Forever) which she hopes will end up in an album.

Leonora - Love Is Forever - Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019 - Official VideoLeonora – Love Is Forever – Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019 – Official Video

Love is Forever is co-written by none other than Lise Cabble, one of the songwriters for Emmelie de Forest’s Only Teardrops that won the Eurovision Song Contest 2013 in Malmö! Lise is joined by Melanie Wehbe and Emil Lei. For many, this song will feel like a breath of fresh air in Eurovision; it’s cute and breezy, sweet but vibrant, and a bounty of language changes throughout the song, including a final chorus in French, gives the song an extra boost!

How Leonora was selected

Denmark used their usual Dansk Melodi Grand Prix format to select their entry, so ten acts competed for the right to represent the country:

Simone Emilie“Anywhere”
2Jasmin Gabay“Kiss Like This”
3Rasmus Faartoft“Hold My Breath”
4Marie Isabell“Dancing with You in My Heart”
5Sigmund“Say My Name”
6Humørekspressen“Dronning af baren”
7Julie & Nina“League of Light”
8Teit Samsø“Step It Up”
9Leonora“Love Is Forever”
10Leeloo“That Vibe”

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix is made up of two rounds of voting. In the first round, a 50/50 combination of public votes and jury votes is used to pick three acts to go through to a “gold final”. This year, the three gold-finalists were Sigmund, Julie & Nina and Leonora. The three acts perform again, and another 50/50 combination of public votes and jury votes picks the winner. In this case, Leonora was selected as Denmark’s winner!

What are your thoughts on the Danish entry for 2019: Leonora – Love is Forever? Did your favourite win the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix?

Let us know your thoughts in the comments below and on social media @ESCXTRA

Back to top button