Tel Aviv 2019

BBC confirm commentating team for Eurovision 2019

The United Kingdom have revealed their hosting team for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019. It should be no surprise that Graham Norton is set to once again deliver commentary for the Grand Final in Tel Aviv, a position he’s held since 2009. Rylan Clark-Neal and Scott Mills have been confirmed for the semifinals on BBC Four!

Rylan makes a comeback

After his debut in the commentary booth last year, BBC have decided to invite Rylan Clark-Neal back for the second time in a row. During Eurovision: You Decide 2017, the former Celebrity Big Brother winner showcased his knowledge of the Eurovision Song Contest. BBC were clearly impressed and asked him to fill in for Mel Giedroyc. The TV host had been a popular commentator for the Eurovision semis, but unfortunately couldn’t make it to Lisbon last year. The BBC were clearly happy with Rylan’s efforts as he’s back for another go, after also being a jury member at You Decide this year.

For the semifinals, Scott Mills will also return. He has been present at the semis since Düsseldorf in 2011. In those years, he’s now had five different co-hosts. Aside from the aforementioned Rylan and Mel, he’s also been teamed up with Ana Matronic, Sara Cox and Laura Whitmore. Since this year, the radio host also does a weekly podcast called Eurovision Calling, which has featured many people from the Eurovision world, including ESCXTRA’s own Oliver Lewis!

Grand Final for Graham

The Grand Final will be a gig for Graham Norton again. It will be the eleventh time in a row that the talkshow and radio host will provide commentary at the Eurovision Song Contest. His Eurovision involvement started back in 2007, when he hosted the inaugural Eurovision Dance Contest. In 2015, he presented Eurovision: Greatest Hits alongside Petra Mede to celebrate sixty years of Eurovision.

It is expected that Ken Bruce will once again host the conest on BBC Radio 2. The veteran has done so since 1988, but doesn’t feature in the official Twitter release of the commentators.

Back to top button