Semifinal 1: First ten countries qualify for Saturday’s Grand Final!

The first ten winners known!

After an exciting first semi final, we now have the names of the first ten countries that are still on the run to earn the coveted Eurovision 2019 trophy!

The qualifiers

The ten countries who made it to Saturday’s final, revealed in a random order are:

  1. Greece
  2. Belarus
  3. Serbia
  4. Cyprus
  5. Estonia
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Australia
  8. Iceland
  9. San Marino
  10. Slovenia

Seven countries left behind

Sadly, alongside the joy of the ten qualifiers comes the disappointment of the seven countries who did not advance to Saturday’s show. They include: Hungary, Portugal, Belgium, Georgia, Montenegro, Finland, Poland.

This is the first time since their return in 2011 that Hungary failed to make the cut. Instead, Iceland returns to the final for the first time since 2014 and Belarus and Greece return after a one year break. Historic result for San Marino that reached the grand final for the second time.

Drawing halves

Shortly, countries will pick the half of the show in which they will perform on Saturday, during the winners’ press conference.

Make sure you keep following ESCXTRA for more information on which half of the show tonight’s finalists will perform.

How did you like tonight’s show? Do you think the right countries qualified? What are your shocks/disappointments?

Let us know in the comment section below or on all social media platforms @ESCXTRA!

Riccardo Maddalozzo

Born in Italy, I have lived in 5 countries in 3 continents. I discovered Eurovision by accident in 2010 and became a superfan in 2013. I attended both Eurovision and Junior Eurovision events and covered several national finals on the ground and hope to continue doing so for a long time!

Related Articles

Back to top button