Eurovision 2019: the semi-finals with the old systems

This Sunday, we published the results of the 2019 grand final with the old voting system. Now, we give you the results of the semi-finals : will the qualifiers change?

Once again, we have used the 2009-2012 system, in which the common top 10 is determined by adding the points from a country’s televote and from his jury. However, jury votes were re-calculated with the method used in 2009 (and up to 2017). This also allow us to calculate the full jury scores, and thus to simulate the voting as it would have been with the system used in 2016 and 2017. With a very small difference between last qualifier and first non-qualifier in each semi, the slightest changes in the jury votes could be enough to change the situation.

First Semi-Final

First, let’s discover the results with the 2009 system :

1st๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Czech Republic140
2nd๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ Australia134
3rd๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ธ Iceland112
4th๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Estonia104
5th๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ท Greece93
6th๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Slovenia75
7th๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ธ Serbia74
8th๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฒ San Marino72
9th๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พ Cyprus64
10th๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Poland62
11th๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡พ Belarus59
12th๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡บ Hungary51
13th๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ช Montenegro32
14th๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ช Georgia29
15th๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Portugal28
16th๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช Belgium24
17th๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Finland8

As you can see, the main difference is that, with the old system, Poland would qualify over Belarus. Hardly a surprise when only two points separated them in the current system. And while Finland is still last, they only get points from one contry : 8 points from Estonia.

As for the results from the old jury, they would not actually change the qualifiers, as you can see below. Indeed, the gap between Belarus and Poland would actually be widened by the old jury

Difference between 2016/17 and 2018/19 jury vote systems

Results with televote

RankCountryOld JuryTelevoteTotal
1st๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡บ Australia 117140257
2nd๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Czech Republic 16585250
3rd๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ธ Iceland53151204
4th๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Estonia64133197
5th๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ท Greece13754191
6th๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Slovenia7093163
7th๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ธ Serbia9465159
8th๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พ Cyprus 9654150
9th๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ฒ San Marino 22124146
10th๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡พ Belarus 8344127
11th๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Poland 5660116
12th๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡บ Hungary7532107
13th๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ช Belgium 482068
14th๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ช Georgia263359
15th๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ช Montenegro 371552
16th๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Portugal 74350
17th๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Finland101424

Second Semi-Final

Once again, let’s first focus on the results with the 2009 system!

1st๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ The Netherlands153
2nd๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฐ North Macedonia126
3rd๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Sweden126
4th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Azerbaijan124
5th๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ Switzerland122
6th๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด Norway112
7th๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Russia109
8th๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡น Malta76
9th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฑ Albania49
10th๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น Lithuania41
11th๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ด Romania36
12th๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Denmark34
13th๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฉ Moldova30
14th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฒ Armenia25
15th๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Latvia24
16th๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ท Croatia23
17th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น Austria6
18th๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช Ireland2

Once again, the qualifiers would be different! And not only would Lithuania, the country that came 11th in the actual results (and 1 point away from the 10th), qualify, but Denmark (who actually came 10th) would slip down to the 12th place, behind Romania.

The tie between Sweden and North Macedonia for the second place was broken with the tie-breaking rule of giving precedence to the country who got points from the most countries : every country gave points to North Macedonia while Russia, Moldova and Italy did not give any points to Sweden.

As for the results with the old jury only, they do change the qualifiers, and also have Denmark as 12th. Indeed, this time, the old jury wouldn’t have widened the gap, or at least they would have, but after inverting it (Denmark losing 10 jury points).

Difference between 2016/17 and 2018/19 jury vote systems

Results with the televote:

RankCountryOld JuryTelevoteTotal
1st๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ The Netherlands143140283
2nd๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฐ North Macedonia15784241
3rd๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Sweden14888236
4th๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ญ Switzerland 95137232
5th ๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Azerbaijan 104121225
6th๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ Russia 93124217
7th ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด Norway 36170206
8th๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡น Malta10950159
9th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฑ Albania415899
10th๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น Lithuania177794
11th๐Ÿ‡ฒ๐Ÿ‡ฉ Moldova 592786
12th๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Denmark434184
13th๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ด Romania 512475
14th๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ท Croatia 283866
15th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ฒ Armenia 282351
16th๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Latvia 321345
17th๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡น Austria22022
18th๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ช Ireland12315

NOTE: As you may know, at least two jurors this year input their ranking in the wrong order during the semi-finals (Lina Hedlund from Sweden and Jitka Zelenkova from the Czech Republic), putting their last place in first place, their second-to-last in 2nd place, etc. When calculating the results above, we did not put their rankings “in the right order” : indeed, the official results have never been changed after a juror discovered their mistake, and our goal is to show the alternate official results as they would have appeared 10 years or 2 years ago.

What do you think of these alternate scores? In this situation, whic system do you prefer? And which one do you think is the fairest? Tell us more in the comments below, or on social media at @escxtra !

Vincent Mazoyer

I'm a French Eurovision fan, and an ESCXTRA Editor since August 2017. I love following national selections and live tweeting on Destination Eurovision / Eurovision CVQD for ESCXTRA. Outside of this nice Eurosphere, I'm a "fan" of the audio medium, from radio podcasts to commercialy-released audios, Modern Pentathlon, and more generally a business and law student.
Back to top button