Eurovision Choir🇸🇪 Sweden

🇸🇪 Tonight: Eurovision Choir 2019!

All the information you need!

Tonight, Eurovision Choir 2019 will take place in Gothenburg, Sweden. Last week, the acting host broadcaster, the EBU, revealed the full television and radio schedule for each competing broadcaster and international viewers. We’ve compiled all the information you need!

What to look out for?

The event will be hosted by SVT’s Ella Petersson – the head of the music department and hosts many of SVT’s cultural programming and music documentaries. Joining her is BBC Radio 3’s Petroc Trelawny who will commentate this summer’s BBC Proms and hosted Eurovision Young Musicians 2018. Many UK viewers will recognise the Scottish choirmaster Joy Dunlop who presents the BBC Weather. All ten choirs will compete for the coveted trophy and the honour of representing their country at the World Choir Games in Flanders, Belgium in July 2020. Making their debut are Norway, Scotland, Sweden and Switzerland.

Running order

Choirs from ten different countries will compete in tonight’s show. The running order is as follows:

  1. Sweden – Zero8: “Khourmi” / “Hej, dunkom så länge vi levom”
  2. Belgium – Almakalia: “Made in Belgium” (medley)
  3. Latvia – Koris Maska: “Pērkontēvs”
  4. Germany – Bonnvoice: “O Täler weit” / “Die Gedanken sind frei”
  5. Norway – Volve Vokal: “Ønskediktet”
  6. Denmark – Vocal Line: “True North”
  7. Scotland – Alba: “Cumha na Cloinne”/ “Ach a’ Mhairead” / “Alba”
  8. Slovenia – Jazzva: “Spomenčice”
  9. Switzerland – Cake O’Phonie: “Chante en mon cœur”/ “La sera sper il lag” / “Poï” / “Le ranz des vaches” / “La ticinella” / “Beresinaliedet” / “Chanson d’ici”
  10. Wales – Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion: “Cúnla” / “Ar Lan y Môr”

The conductors for the choirs are:

  • Sweden – Rasmus Krigström
  • Belgium – Nicolas Dorian – Represented Belgium in 2011 as part of Witloof Bay
  • Latvia – Jānis Ozols – Represented Latvia in 2006 as part of Cosmos
  • Germany – Tono Wissing
  • Norway – Gro Espedal
  • Denmark – Jens Johansen
  • Scotland – Joy Dunlop
  • Slovenia – Jasna Žitnik
  • Switzerland – Antonie Krattinger
  • Wales – Islwyn Evans

Where to watch?

The second edition of the Eurovision Choir will be broadcast from Gothenburg’s Partille Arena. Music fans wanting a change of pace to relax in the ongoing heatwave can view the contest on the following networks:

  • Belgium: La Trois and Musiq3 (20:30 CEST)
  • Denmark: DR1 (20:30 CEST)
  • Germany: WDR (20:15 CEST)
  • Latvia: LTV 1 (20:25 CEST)
  • Norway: NRK1 and NRK Klassik (20:20 CEST)
  • Scotland: BBC Alba (19:30 BST)
  • Slovenia: RTV 1 (20:40 CEST)
  • Sweden: SVT 2 (20:30 CEST)
  • Switzerland: RTS Un (20:30 CEST)
  • Wales: S4C (19:00 BST)

Due to the opening ceremony of the European Choir Games and content required for the broadcaster, the contest is pre-recorded. So the broadcast will actually start at 20:00 CEST, but will be presented as live by each participating broadcaster. The three finalists and the winner will be decided off air. Also to note is that RTV 1 are broadcasting on a tape delay and many broadcasters have pre-shows scheduled. As well as this Belgium and Sweden are airing their broadcasters worldwide.

Is your country not taking part? Fear not! International viewers can also watch the contest through the SVT Play!


Despite taking place over one evening, the show will be split into two rounds. In the first round, each choir will perform a piece of no longer than four minutes, which must contain some regional or national influence from the participating country (be it linguistically or instrumentally)

From the ten choirs, three will be chosen to progress to the second round. In this round, the final three must perform a three-minute piece. An overall winner is then chosen from the three remaining choirs by the following jurors:

  • Deke Sharon (USA) – singer, director, producer, composer and arranger
  • John Rutter (United Kingdom) – composer and conductor, was also a judge in 2017
  • Katarina Henryson (Sweden) – singer and composer, founding member of a cappella ensemble, The Real Group

Should they advance to the second round, the songs that each of the choirs will perform has been released in advance:

  • Sweden – Zero8: “Limu, Limu,Lima”
  • Belgium – Almakalia: “Million Eyes”
  • Latvia – Koris Maska: “Nāc, Dievini”
  • Germany – Bonnvoice: “Air”
  • Norway – Volve Vokal: “Famine Song”
  • Denmark – Vocal Line: “Viola”
  • Scotland – Alba: ““An t-Iarla Diùrach”/ “Innis dhomhsa cà il thu cadal” / “Siud a rud a thogadh fonn”
  • Slovenia – Jazzva: “Bejži ptiček”
  • Switzerland – Cake O’Phonie: “Believer”
  • Wales – Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion: “Yr Alwad”

Will you be watching Eurovision Choir 2019? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates!

Costa Christou

Ever since I saw Helena Paparizou's triumph at Eurovision in 2005 (at the tender age of 6), I have been crazy about Eurovision. From the regional native language bops and shrieky female-led balladry to the sophisticated avant garde pop songs and chart-friendly EDM, I love everything about this cultural phenomenon. I'm currently working as a Delivery Manager in a software development team.

Related Articles

Back to top button