Gliwice-Silesia 2019

Lineup for Belarus’s JESC national selection is revealed

On August 19th, 2019, the Belarusian Television and Radio Company (BTRC) revealed the ten acts that will vie to represent Belarus at the 2019 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Gliwice-Silesia, Poland. After an afternoon of auditions where 44 acts performed, these are the ten finalists:

  • Mariya Yermakova – Vetra (Wind)
  • Sofia Khrolovich – Davay Tantsuy (Let’s Dance)
  • Mariya Zhilina – Spyavala, Gukala, Chakala (Sleeping, Shouting, Waiting)
  • Arina Pekhtereva – Never Again
  • Anastasiya Zhabko – Poymi Menya (Understand Me)
  • Yelizaveta Misnikova – Pepel’nyy (Ash)
  • Sofiya Rustamova – Skazhi Mne (Tell Me)
  • Group Zefir – Luchshiye i Pervyye (Best and First)
  • Kseniya Galetskaya – A Better World
  • Group Monkey Tops – Posmotri Na Nas (Look at Us)

Belarus in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

Belarus was one of the 16 countries to debut at the inaugural edition of the contest in 2003. They placed fourth with the song “Tantsui” by Volha Satsiuk.

Volha Satsiuk’s 2003 JESC performance in Copenhagen, Denmark

They are also one of the only countries to participate in every Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The country has won twice, in 2005 with Ksenia Sitnik’s “My Vmeste” and in 2007 with Alexey Zhigalkovich’s “S Druz’yami.”

Ksenia Sitnik’s 2005 JESC performance in Hasselt, Belgium
Alexey Zhigalkovich’s 2007 JESC performance in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

Minsk, Belarus hosted the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2010 and 2018, both times in Minsk Arena. Their 2018 entry was “Time” by Daniel Yastremski, which placed 11th in a field of 20 with 114 points.

Daniel Yastremski’s 2018 JESC performance in Minsk, Belarus

Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! We’ll also be posting plenty of content on our YouTube in the run up to Gliwice-Silesia!

Related Articles

Back to top button