Eurovision 2020

Amanda Aasa wins the P4 Nästa ticket to Melodifestivalen

8 acts competed for a spot at Melodifestivalen 2020.

It might only be August but we already have our first act to participate at Melodifestivalen! 8 acts competed in the final of P4 Nästa, broadcast live from Linköping Konsert & Kongress on radio and Amanda Aasa was chosen to compete at Melodifestivalen 2020 in February.

A ticket but not a victory

While Amanda Aasa got the jury ticket to the Swedish national selection, she did not win the radiophonic contest. The winner was Tim Lööv, with his song “All I Need Is You”

You can listen to the entries which each artist competed with at the P4 Nästa final below:

  1. “Through Fire And Rain” – Faith Kakembo
  2. “Further Apart” – Hildur Höglind
  3. “Lovenote” – Hugo Andersson
  4. “Gå hem” – Amanda Aasa
  5. “King of the Ocean” – Zulueta
  6. “No Ordinary Girl” – Tova Glyt
  7. “All I Need is You” – Tim Lööv
  8. “Oh No” – Browsing Collection

A different song in February

Of course, as Melodifestivalen rules dictate that songs cannot be revealed in advance of the competition taking place, the P4 Nästa entry will not be the one we hear in February. Instead, Amanda Aasa will perform a new entry at Melodifestivalen 2020.

In 2019, The Lovers of Valdaro also won the P4 Nästa ticket without winning the competition. They were eliminated in their semifinal of Melodifestivalen, finishing in 7th and last place. Les Gordons and Stiko Per Larsson didn’t fare much better in 2017 and 2018 as they only finished in 6th place after also earning their tickets through P4 Nästa.

Do you think Amanda Aasa will have better luck competing at Melodifestivalen than previous P4 Nästa entrants? Let us know in the comments below and on social media @ESCXTRA!


Our collaborative articles are here! Of course, it's worth saying that our favourite entry is 🇧🇬 Sofi Marinova - Love Unlimited (2012).

Related Articles

Back to top button