The Scoop

OGAE Song Contest 2019 entries revealed

The 33rd edition of the contest has been launched

After winning the OGAE Song Contest 2018, OGAE UK has earlier this week launched the 2019 edition of the competition. This is the sixth time that OGAE UK will have the honour of hosting the competition.

The welcome video for the OGAE Song Contest 2019 courtesy of OGAE UK

What is the OGAE Song Contest?

The OGAE Song Contest first took place in 1986, between different OGAE national clubs. It is an auditory contest, which means that national clubs each submit one song as a track, and not as a performance or a videoclip (for the latter, there is the OGAE Video Contest). Voters should only judge the tracks.

The rules are as follows (courtesy of OGAE):

  1. Have been commercially released prior to the entry submission date;
  2. Be performed in a/the national language of the nominating OGAE national club;
  3. Be an original version (not a remix);
  4. Have been released on an album or as a single on vinyl, CD or as a digital download;
  5. Be a studio not a live recording;
  6. Not have previously participated in the Eurovision Song Contest, OGAE Second Chance Contest, or OGAE Video Contest [Junior Eurovision entries are also ineligible subject to a rule change by the Presidents];
  7. Be performer by an individual with the nationality of the nominating OGAE national club.  For groups, at least one performer must have the nationality of the nominating national club; and
  8. Be of a maximum duration of 5 minutes.

The participants of the OGAE Song Contest 2019

For the 2019 edition of the competition, 28 entries will be competing. Previous Eurovision participants have also been put forward as entries such as Poli Genova (Bulgaria 2011 & 2016), Aminata (Latvia 2015), Lena Philipsson (Sweden 2004) AWS (Hungary 2018):

The running order for the OGAE Song Contest 2019 is as follows:

1. Greece – Christos Mastoras – Den Eho Idea
2. United Kingdom – Lewis Capaldi – Someone You Loved
3. Ukraine – The Hardkiss – Kohantsi
4. Belgium – Angèle – Balance Ton Quoi
5. Finland – Lauri Tähkä – Palavaa Vettä
6. Cyprus – Giorgos Papadopoulos – Το χειρότερό σου ψέμα
7. Croatia – Vanna – U Tebi
8. Sweden – Lena Philipsson – Maria Magdalena
9. Portugal – Blaya – Faz Gostoso
10. North Macedonia – Antonia Gigovska – Nikogas ne veli nikogas
11. Germany – Revolverheid – Immer Noch Fühlen
12. Spain – Rosaliá – Malamente
13. Serbia – Emina Jahović – Vukovi
14. Poland – Ania Karwan – Głupcy
15. Czech Republic – Tereza Mašková – Žár
16. Malta – Aidan Cassar – The Feeling
17. Russia – Lesha Svik – Sterva
18. Turkey – Sena Şener – Ölsem
19. Hungary – AWS – Hol Voltál.
20. Rest of the World – Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper – Shallow
21. Latvia – Aminata – Maiga Vara
22. France – Vitaa & Slimane – Je te le donne
23. Italy – Elisa – Anche Fragile
24. Ireland – Kodaline – Hide and Seek
25. Australia – Wafia – I’m Good
26. Azerbaijan – L’Veen – Dərdverən
27. Bulgaria – Poli Genova – Geroite
28. Andorra – Joan Dausà ft Maria Rodés & Santi Balmes – Una Altra Manera De Viure

The members of each participating club will now vote for their favourite entries , with the results being announced at a later date. You can find our more information about this year’s contest by clicking here.

The OGAE Song Contest 2018

In 2018, OGAE Australia hosted the OGAE Song Contest. 29 countries have submitted an entry, with OGAE and Steps emerging as the winners with their song ‘Scared of the Dark’ from their fifth studio album ‘Tears on the Dancefloor’.

Who do you think will win this year’s OGAE Song Contest? Let us know your opinions and thoughts below or at social media. Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates.

Tim Jumawan

I started watching Eurovision ever since I moved to the UK in 2006, obsessed since 2012 and haven't looked back since.

Related Articles

Back to top button