Junior Eurovision🇦🇲 Armenia

🇦🇲 Junior Eurovision back in time: relive Yerevan 2011

Reach For The Top

Welcome to episode nr. 9 of ‘Junior Eurovision back in time’! Today we take you back to Yerevan, the host city of the kids contest in 2011. That marks the first Eurovision event in the Caucasus-area. What do you remember from this edition?

Quick things to know

  • Date: 3 December
  • Venue: Karen Demirchyan Sports and Concerts Complex
  • Host broadcaster: ARMTV
  • Presenters: Gohar Gasparyan & Avet Barseghyan
  • Number of entries: 13
De bronafbeelding bekijken
Avet Barseghyan & Gohar Gasparyan

At the beginning of 2011, EBU announced that Armenia would organize the Junior Eurovision Song Contest of that year. For the first time a winning country organizes the next edition!

Karen Demirchyan Sports and Concerts Complex

Participating countries

Zero debutants, one returnign country and two withdrawals. While Serbia and Malta started a small break from their Junior Eurovision journey, Bulgaria came back.

Full lists of participating countries:

  • Russia: Katya Ryabova – Romeo & Juliet
  • Latvia: Amanda Basmakova – Moondog
  • Moldova: Lerika – No, no
  • Armenia: Dalita – Welcome to Armenia
  • Bulgaria: Ivan Ivanov – Supergeroy
  • Lithuania: Pauline Skrabtyé – Debesys
  • Ukraine: Kristall – Evropa
  • North Macedonia: Dorijan Dlaka – Žimi ovoj frak
  • The Netherlands: Rachel – Teenager
  • Belarus: Lidiya Zablotskaya – Angely dobra
  • Sweden: Erik Rapp – Faller
  • Georgia: Candy – Candy Music
  • Belgium: Femke – Een Kusje Meer

Interval acts

Molly Sandén – Spread A Little Light

Vladimir Arzumanyan – Mama

Sirusho – Qele Qele

Top 3

  • 3. Belarus: Lidiya Zablotskaya – Angely dobra
  • 2. The Netherlands: Rachel – Teenager
  • 1. Georgia: Candy – Candy Music

Candy wins Junior Eurovision 2011

And that marks the second victory of the Caucasus-nation. While struggling in the adult contest, Georgia becomes a powerhouse in the kids contest. Candy received points from every nation, including three times the maximum 12 points by Armenia, Lithuania and Belarus.

Some fun facts

  • Every country received 12 points so nobody returned home with 0. Those 12 points were announced by a spokesperson from Australia.
  • Non-participating countries Australia and Bosnia & Herzegovina broadcasted the show.
  • Russia’s Katya Ryabova becomes the first artist to take part twice in Junior Eurovision. Her previous attempt was in 2009.
  • Changes in the voting rules: the voting lines opened after the last country performed + each country’s spokesperson also announced all the points during their presentation, due to the lower number of participating countries, as it was done in 2003–2004.

Enjoyed reading this article? Make sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates.

Aline van Rossem

Small town girl in a big arcade. In love with the Eurovision Song Contest since Alexander Rybak's win in 2009. Favourite ESC songs ever? Love Shine A Light and Arcade!

Related Articles

Back to top button