Junior EurovisionMinsk 2018

Junior Eurovision back in time: relive Minsk 2018


Welcome to the very last episode of ‘Junior Eurovision back in time’. Over the past few weeks we have collected some nice and nostalgic memories from the previous Junior Eurovision editions. Now we have come to the last edition, namely that of last year. What do you remember about Junior Eurovision 2018?

Quick things to know

  • Date: 26 November
  • Venue: Minsk-Arena
  • Host broadcaster: BTRC
  • Presenter: Evgeny Perlin, Zinaida Kupriyanovich and Helena Meraai
  • Number of entries: 20
De bronafbeelding bekijken
Zinaida, Evgeny & Helena

Participating countries

A record! No fewer than 20 countries took part in Junior Eurovision 2018. After a short break, both Israel and Azerbaijan returned to the competition. However, the most striking return was one that many had been looking forward to for a while! France returned after one participation in 2004. In 2018, two brand new countries were added, Kazakhstan and Wales. The only country that withdrew was Cyprus.

Full list of participating countries:

  • Ukraine: Darina Krasnovetska – Say Love
  • Portugal: Rita Laranjeira – Gosto de Tudo
  • Kazakhstan: Daneliya Tuleshova – Ozine Sen
  • Albania: Efi Gjika – Barbie
  • Russia: Anna Filipchuk – Unbreakable
  • The Netherlands: Max & Anne – Samen
  • Azerbaijan: Fidan Huseynova – I Wanna Be Like You
  • Belarus: Daniel Yastremski – Time
  • Ireland: Taylor Hynes – Your Voice
  • Serbia: Bojana Radovanovic – Svet
  • Italy: Melissa & Marco – What Is Love
  • Australia: Jael – Champion
  • Georgia: Tamar Edilashvili – Your Voice
  • Israel: Noam Dadon – Children Like These
  • France: Angelina – Jamais Sans Toi
  • North Macedonia: Marija Spasovska – Doma
  • Armenia: Levon – L.E.V.O.N
  • Wales: Manw – Perta
  • Malta: Ela – Marchin’ On
  • Poland: Roksana Wegiel – Anyone I Want To Be

Interval acts

Polina Bogusovich

Top 3

  • 3. Australia: Jael – Champion
  • 2. France: Angelina – Jamais Sans Toi
  • 1. Roksana Wegiel – Anyone I Want To Be

Roksana wins Junior Eurovision 2018

After a very exciting voting, Roksana from Poland won the 17th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. And so Poland wins the first Eurovision-related victory. She received a total of 215 points, a combination of 79 jury score and 136 points from the online voting.

Roksana’s winning moment

Reprise performance

Some fun facts

  • Minsk-Arena is the first venue to host Junior Eurovision two times
  • Jamais Sans Toi is the first entry sung in French since 2005
  • 20 countries is the highest number of participating countries so far
  •  Kazakhstan was the third best performing debuting nation, after Croatia and Italy’s victories in 2003 and 2014 respectively, and Armenia’s second place in 2007. Kazakhstan finished sixth.
  • Non-participants New Zealand and United Kingdom broadcastd the show aswell.

Aline van Rossem

Small town girl in a big arcade. In love with the Eurovision Song Contest since Alexander Rybak's win in 2009. Favourite ESC songs ever? Love Shine A Light and Arcade!

Related Articles

Back to top button