Eurovision 2020🇪🇪 Estonia

🇪🇪 ERR reveals Eesti Laul semi final splits

Who will follow Victor Crone?

Earlier this month, Estonian broadcaster ERR revealed the 24 entries competing to represent Estonia in Rotterdam. This week, the broadcaster has split all the acts between the two semi finals which will be held in mid-February. The 24 songs selected for Eesti Laul were picked from 178 submissions.

The split between the acts can be seen below in alphabetical order:

Semi-final 1 – 13th February

  • Anett x Fredi – ‘Write About Me’
  • Egert Milder – ‘Georgia (On My Mind)’
  • INGA – ‘Right Time’
  • Jennifer Cohen – ‘Ping Pong’
  • Kruuv – ‘Leelo’
  • Laura – ‘Break Me’
  • Little Mess – ‘Without a Reason’
  • Rasmus Rändvee – ‘Young’
  • Renate – ‘Videomäng’
  • Revals – ‘Kirjutan Romaani’
  • Stefan – ‘By My Side’
  • Synne Valtri ft. Väliharf – ‘Majakad’

Semi-final 2 – 15th February

  • German & Violina – ‘Heart Winder’
  • Inger – ‘Only Dream’
  • Jaagup Tuisk – ‘Beautiful Lie’
  • Janet – ‘Hingeland’
  • Mariliis Jõgev – ‘Unistustes’
  • Merilin Mälk – ‘Milkon Sammu’
  • SHIRA – ‘Out in Space’
  • Traffic – ‘Üks kord veel’
  • Uku Suviste – ‘Where Love Is’
  • Uudo Sepp – ‘I’m Sorry. I Messed Up’
  • Viinerid – ‘Kapa Kohi-LA’
  • Ziggy Wild – ‘Lean on Me’

The running order within each respective semi will be announced in the New Year.

Songs released on November 30th

In just over a fortnight, ETV will reveal the 24 songs in full for fans all over the world to listen to!

Estonia in the Eurovision Song Contest

Estonia first attempted to make their debut at the 1993 contest. Due to an influx of new nations, they had to take part in a special qualification competition: Kvalifikacija za Millstreet. This was a result of the break up of the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia. Estonia were not able to secure one of the three places at the 1993 contest, so their debut waited until 1994.

Estonia has since become the most successful of the three Baltic nations, securing ten top-ten finishes in their 24 Eurovision appearances. This included a victory in 2001 courtesy of Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL and their track “Everybody”.

Unfortunately for Estonia, they initially struggled to adapt to the enlarged contest once semi-finals were introduced in 2004. After five consecutive non-qualifications, rumours emerged that the nation was to withdraw from the contest in 2009. Thankfully, ERR chose to send an entry after all and Urban Symphony secured a superb sixth place with “Rändajad”.

Since 2004, Estonia has reached the final on seven out of ten occasions, four of which resulting in a top-ten finish.

This year, Estonia qualified for the Eurovision final with the song ‘Storm’, performed by Victor Crone. After qualifying from the first semi-final in 4th place with 198 points, Victor finished 20th in the final, with 76 points.

Are you looking forward to hearing the songs for Eesti Laul? Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates!

Related Articles

Back to top button