Eurovision 2020🇵🇱 Poland

🇵🇱 The Semi-Finalists for Szansa na Sukces have been revealed

A Familiar Name from the 2019 contest has been confirmed

We have previously reported new information about Szansa na Sukces , as well as reporting the first artists competing. Now, the remaining artists for this year’s edition have been confirmed, as well as the Semi-Final that they will be competing in.

Who’s Participating in Szansa na Sukces 2020?

Semi-Final 1 – ABBA

  1. Patryk Skoczyński
  2. Emilia Sanecka
  3. Sisters of Nobility
  4. Kasia Dereń
  5. Amelia Andryszczyk
  6. Sargis Davtyan
  7. Maja Hyży

Semi-Final 2 – Eurovision Hits

  • Aleksandra Nykiel
  • Saszan
  • Alicja Szemplińska
  • Paulina Czapla
  • Weronika Curyło
  • Damian Kulej
  • Stashka

Semi-Final 3 – The Beatles

  • Basia Gąsienica Giewont
  • Adrian Makar
  • Nick Sinckler
  • Albert Černy
  • Norbert Legieć

The name that mostly stands out in the list is Albert Černy who is a member of the Czech band ‘Lake Malawi’ that represented Czech Republic in Tel Aviv in 2019, which managed to place 11th. The filming for the Semi-Finals Szansa na Sukces commenced on the 19th of January and will conclude on the 21st of January.

Format of Szansa na Sukces 2020

The show will be hosted by Artur Orzech. The three person jury will consist of three former Eurovision representatives – Cleo (2014), Michal Szpak (2016) and Gromee (2018). Each show will have a theme:

  • 2nd February: Semi-Final One – ABBA
  • 9th February: Semi-Final Two – Eurovision Hits
  • 16th February: Semi-Final Three – The Beatles

As with the Junior edition, the semi-final shows will be pre-recorded, rather than aired live. Recording of the semi-finals for Szansa na Sukces will take place from Sunday to Monday. Then, the shows will be aired on TVP2 every Sunday from February 2 to February 16.

One artist will proceed to the final from each semi. One artist will be selected via the in-studio jury, while an additional act will be qualified via a ‘Golden Ticket’ from the jury.

The final will be aired live on February 23rd on TVP. In the final, each act will perform a cover and an original song – their Eurovision entry. Unlike the semis, the winner of the selection will be entirely chosen by public voting. The winner will go on to represent Poland in Rotterdam.

Poland in the Eurovision Song Contest

Poland made their Eurovision debut back in 1994 with Edyta Gorniak’s “To nje ja”, which finished in 2nd place. To date, this remains their best result at the contest. Following the introduction of the semi-finals, Poland failed to qualify in six out of seven contest between 2005 and 2011, before withdrawing from the 2012 and 2013 contests.

Upon their return, Poland enjoyed better results, until recently. After returning to the contest in 2014, they qualified consecutively until 2018. In Lisbon, DJ and producer Gromee featuring Swedish singer Lukas Meijer flew the Polish flag with “Light Me Up”. They failed to qualify, placing 14th place in the second semi-final with 81 points. Although the song would have qualified on a televote, it was only 15th with the juries.

Last year, they suffered a similar fate. In Tel Aviv, Poland was represented by Tulia with the song “Fire of Love (Pali się)”. They finished 11th in the semi-final with 120 points, missing a spot in the Grand Final by just 2 points.

Are you happy with the acts participating in Szansa na Sukces? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the run-up to Rotterdam!

Tim Jumawan

I started watching Eurovision ever since I moved to the UK in 2006, obsessed since 2012 and haven't looked back since.

Related Articles

Back to top button