🇸🇪 The first inductees of the Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame

This year SVT introduced the Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame. During each heat, 12 new entries – including singers as well as specific songs – will be inducted. In Andra Chansen, the second chance round, all the inductees will take part in a special celebration.

The Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame

SVT has already revealed that winning Eurovision Song Contest on Sweden’s behalf will grant an automatic entry into the hall of fame.

In the first heat last Saturday, the first 12 inductees of Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame were showcased. However, As ESCXTRA previously reported, four of these were already known in advance – “Heroes”, Alice Babs, Nanne Grönvall, and Lena Philipsson.


Ingela “Pling” Forsman

Infamous Melodifestivalen lyricist who has written 38 entries, and won the contest three times; in 1985, 1995, and 1998.

Magnus Uggla

Two time Melodifestivalen entrant; however, his induction is for his 1979 entry “Johnny the Rocker”.

Lasse Berghagen

Won Melodifestivalen in 1975 with the song “Jennie Jennie”. Previously competed with “Min kärlekssång till dig” in 1974 and “Ding dong” in 1973.

Claes-Göran Hederström

Inducted for being the first Melodifestivalen participant to win with a pop song, all the way back in 1968 with “Det börja verka kärlek, banne mej”.

Lasse Samuelsson

Legendary Melodifestivalen conductor during the 1960s and 1970s.

Sarah Dawn Finer

Inducted for her massively popular entries “I remember love” and “Moving on”.

After Dark

Inducted for their 2004 breakout hit “La dolce vita”.

Lena Philipsson

Before she won the contest in 2004 with “Det gör ont”, Lena participated in Melodifestivalen three times and each entry became a classic.

Nanne Grönvall

Inducted for her recurring participations in a wide variety of genres and styles.

Alice Babs

Sweden’s first ever Eurovision participant back in 1958 with the song “Lilla stjärna”.

Additionally, Eurovision winners “Diggi loo diggi ley” and “Heroes” were among the inductees. The reward goes to the artist and songwriters of their respective entry.

Who would you like to see in Melodifestivalen Hall of Fame? Did any of your favorites make the cut so far? Let us know in the comments or on social media @ESCXTRA!


Related Articles

Back to top button