Eurovision 2020🇮🇱 Israel

🇮🇱 Israel: Final four of HaKokhav Haba L’Eurovision revealed

The artists will be chosen on February 4th, with the song following on March 3rd

Having begun back in November, we are now just one show away from seeing who Israel will be sending to Rotterdam. Four artists survived the semi final duel rounds to proceed to the final. Although the final will take place tomorrow (February 4th), the journey to the Israeli song for Rotterdam continues…

Last night, the second semi-final of HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion 2020 took place, with Gaya Shaki and Or Amrami-Brockman completing the line-up for the Grand Final. Eden Alene and Ella-Lee Lahav had qualified in the first semi-final the week before. The results of both shows were as follows:

Semi One, Round Two
  • Lali Kolishkin – 54 (Jury) + 18 (Viewers) – 72 points – Eliminated
  • Ella-Lee Lahav – 64 (Jury) + 20 (Viewers) – 84 points – Finalist
  • Eden Alene – 62 (Jury) + 22 (Viewers) – 84 points – Finalist
Semi Two, Round Two
  • Raviv Kaner – 56 (Jury) + 20 (Public) – 76 points – Eliminated
  • Gaya Shaki – 60 (Jury) + 18 (Public) – 78 points – Finalist
  • Or Amrami-Brockman – 64 (Jury) + 22 (Public) – 86 Finalist

That means, line-up for tomorrow’s final of HaKokhav HaBa L’Eurovizion 2020 is:

  • Eden Alene
  • Ella-Lee Lahav
  • Gaya Shaki
  • Or Amrami-Brockman

Song to be selected on March 3rd

As previously reported, the way in which Israel select their entry for Eurovision has changed. Instead of the song being internally-selected, the Israeli entry will be selected via a separate selection show. 

On March 3rd, Israel will select their entry via “The Next Song to Eurovision”, where the winner of HaKokhav Haba L’Eurovizion will present four prospective entries. Eurovision 2019 host Lucy Ayoub will be the host of the song selection, alongside an unannounced co-presenter. Voting will be comprised of both televote and professional jury vote…in a bizarre format:

  • 30% audience/televote
  • 65% professional jury
  • 5% judges

We’ll of course keep you updated on the selection show as and when further information emerges.

Israel at the Eurovision Song Contest

Israel has participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 41 times since making its debut in 1973. The country has won the contest four times (1978, 1979, 1998, 2018), and has hosted the contest three times (1979, 1999 and 2019).

Since the introduction of the semi-finals in 2004, Israel has failed to reach the final six times. In 2005, Shiri Maimon gave the country its tenth top five result with “HaSheket SheNish’ar”, finishing fourth. Having failed to qualify for the final for four consecutive years (2011–2014), Israel reached the final with Nadav Guedj’s “Golden Boy” in 2015. Since Nadav’s ninth-place finish, Israel has qualified for every Grand Final. 

Last year, Netta brought Israel it’s fourth victory, 20 years after its previous win. Her song won the televote and placed 3rd in the jury vote, amassing 529 points. The 2019 edition of the contest was hosted in Tel Aviv. Performing on home soil, Kobi Marimi’s “Home” didn’t quite reach the heights of its predecessor, placing 21st with 35 points.

Who are you rooting for? What kind of song are you hoping to see Israel send to Rotterdam? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the run up to Rotterdam!

Back to top button