Eurovision 2020🇱🇻 Latvia

🇱🇻 Supernova 2020 goes 100% televote

The Supernova producers have announced today that for the first time in Supernova’s history only the public will decide the winner. On February 8, public will be able to vote for their favorites via internet, telephone or SMS.

No Jury Vote for Supernova 2020

In the recent years the national final has drawn some criticism as jury vote took preference over the televote. The number of voters was not even disclosed in the recent years with the public vote was announced as a percentage.

It is not uncommon that the Supernova jury and televoters disagree on who would be best to represent Latvia. Had Latvia used this selection method last year, Markus Riva would have flown the Latvian flag in Tel Aviv.

This does not mean that the jury will no longer be around. Ilze Jansone, the producer of the selection, has revealed that the jury will consist of 3 international members – Maarja- Merivoo_Parro (Raadio 2, Estonia), Geruta Griniute (LRT, Lithuania) and Petri Mannonen (Universal Music Group, Finland). The fourth jury member will be Artis Dvarionas, who is Latvia’s Radio SWH producer.

Our very own Costa and myself had a chat to see who we think will win.

Do you agree with our predictions? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the run up to Rotterdam!

Aivis Indāns

Traumatized by Latvia's result in 2003, Aivis has returned to follow the contest closely year after year. He thoroughly enjoys the complexity and excitement that surrounds the contest, and currently resides in London, UK.

Related Articles

Back to top button