Eurovision 2020

TODAY: National selections in nine countries

Nine countries and many, many time zones. Welcome to 'super Saturday'!

The second Saturday of February marks one of the biggest in the preselection calendar, as no less than nine countries hold national selections that will help determine who their respective entrant to Eurovision is. Fans in Europe will need to be wide and awake for Australia giving them ample time for a quick power nap before shows in Norway, Sweden, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Ukraine and Italy respectively.

🇦🇺 Australia – Australia Decides 2020

Show: Australia Decides
When: 10:30 – 13:10 CET
Where to Watch: SBS or the Facebook livestream

The Australian public will have 50% of the vote, while a professional jury (including Eurovision 2015 winner Måns Zelmerlöw!) will reward will have the remaining 50% weighting.

  1. iOTA – “Life”
  2. Jordan-Ravi – “Pushing Stars”
  3. Jaguar Jonze – “Rabbit Hole”
  4. Jack Vidgen – “I am King I am Queen”
  5. Vanessa Amorosi – “Lessons of Love”
  6. Diana Rouvas – “Can we Make Heaven”
  7. Mitch Tambo – “Together”
  8. Casey Donovan – “Proud”
  9. Montaigne – “Don’t Break Me”
  10. Didirri – “Raw Stuff”

🇺🇦 Ukraine – Vidbir First semi-final

Show: Vidbir – First semi-final
When: 18:00 CET to 21:21 CET
Where to Watch: Youtube livestream below

The Vidbir jury will consist of 3 members, Andrii Danylko (Verka Serduchka), Tina Karol (Ukraine 2006) and Vitalii Drozdov. The jury will have 50 percent of the say in the results with the other 50 percent coming from the Ukrainian public. Three acts will qualify to the final.

  1. [О] – “Tam, Kudy Ya Ydu”
  2. Jerry Heil – “Vegan”
  3. Katya Chilly – “Pich”
  4. KRUTЬ – “99”
  5. GO-A – “Solovei”
  6. CLOUDLESS – “Drown Me Down”
  7. GIO – “Feeling So Lost”
  8. Assol – “Save It”

🇮🇸 Iceland – Söngvakeppnin – Semi-final One

Show: Söngvakeppnin 2020 – Semi-final One
When: 19:45 – 21:00 CET
Where to Watch: RUV or the livestream

Two songs from each semi will proceed to the big final in Laugardalshöll on February 29th. RÚV also has the option of adding a wildcard to the final line-up, meaning the final will consist of four or five songs.

  1. Kid Isak – “Ævintýri”
  2. Elísabet – “Elta þig”
  3. Brynja Mary – “Augun þín”
  4. Ísold & Helga – “Klukkan tifar”
  5. DIMMA – “Almyrkvi”

🇳🇴 Norway – Melodi Grand Prix – Heat 4

Show: Melodi Grand Prix – Heat Four
When: 19:50 – 21:10 CET
Where to Watch: NRK or the livestream

We’re into our final week of Norway’s country-wide selection. This week’s focus is on Northern Norway and our four acts will, once again, be split into two duels randomly selected live at the start of the show. We will also see another of the pre-qualified finalists perform their entry to the Norwegian audience. Tone Danli will perform “Hurts Sometimes” before the act from this heat is selected for February’s grand final.

  • Elin & The Woods – We Are As One
  • Jenny Jenssen – Mr. Hello
  • Kevin Boine – Stem på mæ
  • Liza Vassilieva – I Am Gay

🇸🇪 Sweden – Melodifestivalen – Heat 2

Show: Melodifestivalen – Deltäving Two
When: 20:00 – 21:30 CET
Where to Watch: SVT or the livestream

Seven songs will compete in the first deltäving which this week is hosted in Gothenburg. As ever, the two most popular songs will go direct to the final (DTF), while another two songs will go to the second chance round (Andra chansen). Three acts will be knocked out of the competition.

  1. Linda Bengtzing – “Alla mina sorger”
  2. Dotter – “Bulletproof”
  3. Anna Bergendahl – “Kingdom Come”
  4. Thorsten Flinck – “Miraklernas tid”
  5. Klara Hammarström – “Nobody”
  6. Paul Rey – “Talking in My Sleep”
  7. Mendez feat. Alvaro Estrella – “Vamos amigos”

🇱🇹 Lithuania – Pabandom iš naujo – Semi-final 2

Show: Eurovizijos Atranka – Semi-final Two
When: 20:00 – 22:20 CET
Where to Watch: LRT or the livestream

It’s also the fifth week of the Lithuanian selection, endearingly entitled “We Go Again” in English. Nine acts will take to the stage and be whittled down by jury and televoters to select just four songs to go to the final.

  1. Meandi – “DRIP”
  2. Petunija – “Show Ya”
  3. Germanas Skoris – “Chemistry (Breaking Free)”
  4. Moniqué –  “Make Me Human”
  5. Rokas Povilius – “Vilnius Calling”
  6. Monika Marija – “If I Leave”
  7. Andy Vaic – “Why Why Why”
  8. The Backs – “Fully”

🇱🇻 Latvia – Supernova

Show: Supernova 2020
When: 20:25 – 23:15 CET
Where to Watch: LTV or the livestream

The Latvian public will be able to vote for their favorites via internet, telephone or SMS. Unlike previous years, the winner will be selected through 100% televote. An advisory jury will still comment on the performance.

  1. Seleste – “Like Me”
  2. DRIKSNA – “Stay”
  3. Katrīna Bindere – “I Will Break Your Heart”
  4. Edgars Kreilis – “Tridymite”
  5. Katrīna Dimanta – “Heart Beats”
  6. Miks Dukurs – “I’m Falling for You”
  7. ANNNA – “Polyester”
  8. Bad Habits – “Sail with You”
  9. Samantha Tīna – “Still Breathing”

🇮🇹 Italy – Sanremo Final

Show: Sanremo 2020 – Final evening
When: 20:45 – 01:30 CET
Where to Watch: RAI or the livestream

  1. Achille Lauro – “Me ne frego (I don’t care)”
  2. Alberto Urso – “Il sole ad est (The sun to the east)”
  3. Anastasio – “Rosso di rabbia (Red with anger)”
  4. Bugo e Morgan – “Sincero (Sincere)”
  5. Diodato – “Fai rumore (Make noise)”
  6. Elettra Lamborghini – “Musica e il resto scompare (Music and the rest disappears)”
  7. Elodie – “Andromeda”
  8. Enrico Nigiotti – “Baciami adesso (Kiss me now)”
  9. Francesco Gabbani – “Viceversa (Vice versa)”
  10. Giordana Angi – “Come mia madre (Like my mother)”
  11. Irene Grandi – “Finalmente io (Finally I)”
  12. Junior Cally – “No grazie (No thanks)”
  13. Le Vibrazioni – “Dov’è (Where is it)”
  14. Levante – “Tiki Bom Bom”
  15. Marco Masini – “Il confronto (The comparison)”
  16. Michele Zarrillo – “Nell’estasi o nel fango (In ecstasy or mud)”
  17. Paolo Jannacci – “Voglio parlarti adesso (I want to talk to you now)”
  18. Piero Pelù – “Gigante (Giant)”
  19. Pinguini Tattici Nucleari – “Ringo Starr”
  20. Rancore – “Eden”
  21. Raphael Gualazzi – “Carioca”
  22. Riki – “Lo sappiamo entrambi (We both know it)”
  23. Rita Pavone – “Niente (Resilienza 74) (Nothing (Resilience 74))
  24. Tosca – “Ho amato tutto  (I loved everything)”

🇲🇹 Malta – X Factor Final

Show: X Factor Malta – Final
When: 20:50 – 22:00 CET
Where to Watch: TVM or the livestream

X Factor Malta concludes its second season with one of the below singers representing the island of Malta in Rotterdam 2020. The winner will represent Malta at Rotterdam in the Eurovision Song Contest.

  • Destiny Chukunyere
  • F.A.I.T.H
  • Justine Shorfid
  • Kyle Cutaja

Which national selection show will you be watching tonight? Will we hear a potential winner tonight? Let us know in the comments below or on social media @ESCXTRA on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Related Articles

Back to top button