Poland 2020🇩🇪 Germany

🇩🇪 Five contestants revealed in German Junior Eurovision 2020 selection: Dein Song für Warschau

The five finalists were selected from over seventy applicants

They will be participating in the contest for the first time ever in 2020, and now German broadcaster KiKa has revealed the contestants in their national selection!

The five acts were selected from over seventy applicants, and they are:

  • Malaika (14)
  • Linnea May (13)
  • Leroy (13)
  • Davit (12)
  • Susan (13)

How will ‘your song for Warsaw’ be selected?

Each of the five finalists performed the two selected songs, ‘Stronger With You’ and ‘See You Later’. Their performances can be found on KiKa’s website. Both songs have been composed by Levent Geiger, who is also a member of the jury who will select the entrant. The jury is made up of:

  • Max Mutzke – German representative at Eurovision 2004
  • Martin Haas – Music Producer
  • Michele Huesmann – Vocal coach
  • Levent Geiger – Composer of the potential songs

The selection will be broadcast in two parts, titled ‘Junior Eurovision Song Contest – Das Casting’ on September 1st and 2nd. On the second show the first ever German entry will be revealed!

Germany’s Junior Eurovision History

While Warsaw 2020 will be their debut, Germany has shown interest in the contest in the past. The country was on the initial list of participants in the inaugural contest in 2003, but did not participate in the end. The contest was broadcast online by broadcaster NDR in 2015 and 2016, and a German delegation observed the contest last year. This late debut makes Germany the last of the ‘big five’ countries to participate in the junior edition of the contest.

What’s your thoughts on the acts in the German national selection? What are your feelings of the songs? Comment below or share your opinion with @escxtra on TwitterFacebook and Instagram.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button