Rotterdam 2021πŸ‡©πŸ‡° Denmark

πŸ‡©πŸ‡° Fyr Og Flamme wins Dansk Melodi Grand Prix!

This evening, Denmark hosted Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, their national selection for Eurovision 2021. After an exciting evening, the winner has been chosen, and it is Fyr Og Flamme!

Format and voting

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix has been used each year by Denmark to decide its entry since their first participation in 1957. This year was no exception, despite the cancellation of last year’s contest. There was no second chance for the previously selected song “YES” by Ben & Tan. Thus, eight songs competed in the competition tonight in the hopes of representing Denmark at Eurovision.

The voting system is primarily based on televotes. From the eight selected songs, three will be chosen through televoting to advance to the superfinal. This year, the entries that made it to the superfinal were: Chief 1 & Thomas, Jean Michel, and Fyr Og Flamme.

After the superfinal, the televote can once again decide on their favourite after another performance by the finalists. There is no jury involved in this final vote, meaning it is 100% based on the public’s opinion. Furthermore, votes could be cast through an app or SMS, in which using the app meant you would get one vote for free.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix: the results

Running orderEntry Result
1.Chief 1 & Thomas Buttenschøn – Højt over skyerne3rd
2.Nanna Olivia – Hvileløse hjerterNot qualified
3.The Cosmic Twins – Silver BulletNot qualified
4.Claudia Campagnol – AbracadabraNot qualified
5.Mike Tramp – Everything Is AlrightNot qualified
6.Fyr & Flamme – Øve os på hinanden1st
7.Emma Nicoline – Står lige herNot qualified
8.Jean Michel – Beautiful2nd

Also, check out our reaction to the entry below:

Are you happy about the results? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the upcoming months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button