Poland 2020πŸ‡°πŸ‡Ώ Kazakhstan

πŸ‡°πŸ‡Ώ Meet Karakat Bashanova and vote for KAZAKHSTAN in Junior Eurovision 2020 now!

After a year like no other, ESCXTRA can’t be in the Polish capital city of Warsaw to bring you live coverage of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2020. Nevertheless, we bring you the next best thing… an overview of each of the twelve participating entries and all the details you need to cast your online votes right now! Within this article, we learn more about Kazakhstan’s representative, Karakat Bashanova, and her entry ‘Forever’.

Meet Karakat Bashanova

12 year old Karakat Bashanova was victorious in a twelve song national final earlier this year. During the final she narrowly won by 0.2% with her moving ballad ‘Forever’. The entry that she will perform in Sunday’s contest was written by Yeleusiz Ardak, Abulkhair Adam and composed by Khamit Shangaliyev. Khamit is also known for composing Yerzhan Maxim’s Junior Eurovision 2019 entry ‘Armanyńnan Qalma’.

In an interview with Junioreurovision.tv Karakat reveals that her favourite artists are Beyoncé, Céline Dion, Whitney Houston. “Because they know how to deliver their music to their listeners.” Which is what Karakat hopes to achieve herself with ‘Forever’. Within the lyrics there is a heartfelt message. The sorrow of children losing their fathers too young. Something Karakat knows too well, as she lost her own father just days before the national final.

“The author wrote the exact same things that I wanted to say to my father. Also, it says “I remember those days” and I do remember everything, I will always keep the memory of my father.”

Karakat Bushanova (Junioreurovision.tv)

Recently we managed to catch up with Karakat Bashanova to discuss her Junior Eurovision participation. You can watch the interview below here:

Kazakhstan in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

As ESCXTRA team member Ryan summarised in his 2018 feature article Kazakhstan’s Junior Eurovision journey so far… The national broadcaster Khabar Agency had shown an interest in joining the Eurovision Family of Events for several years. But not being a full European Broadcasting Union member broadcaster resulted in a big barrier to participation. However the EBU eventually granted Kazakhstan associate member status in 2018 as already they do with Australia. Thus giving them the opportunity to make their Junior Eurovision debut.

Not ones to look a gift horse in the mouth, Kazakhstan have made a big impact in a short time. Back in 2018 they went all out to host their first national final fit for the Minsk contest itself. Which took place in the impressive Almaty Arena. In the ten song final America’s Got Talent star Daneliya Tuleshova became the first representative for Kazakhstan. During the contest Daneliya and her traditional ballad ‘Ózińe Sen‘ went on to achieve sixth place.

Last year it was The Voice Kids Russia winner, Yerzhan Maksim who flew the flag for Kazakhstan. He had previously finished third in the 2018 national final with ‘Elimdi Súıemin‘. However the Khabar Agency saw his potential and internally selected him for 2019. During the contest his powerful song ‘Armanyńnan Qalma‘ stood out to see him earn Kazakhstan’s best result to date with 227 points for second place behind Poland.

Vote for Kazakhstan now!

Votes can be cast via vote.junioreurovision.tv NOW! Viewers from all over the world can vote for three countries.

The first round of voting is open right now and will close at 4.59pm CET on Sunday 29th November, just before the beginning of the live broadcast. Then, voting will reopen during the show for fifteen minutes following the final performance so that any final votes can be cast.

Stay up to date by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! As well as subscribing to our YouTube channel. Where you can watch our reactions to the news in the upcoming months. You can also follow our Spotify for more music from your favourite acts!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button