Stockholm 2016

Gina Dirawi to host Melodifestivalen!

In a press conference this morning, the host for Melodifestivalen has been revealed.
Gina Dirawi will be back on the Melodifestivalen stage to take the lead as the host of the touring Swedish National Final. Gina Dirawi was already confirmed by Aftonbladet a few weeks ago. More updates will come during the press conference.
To celebrate the 15 year anniversary of the tournée, every show will see a co-host on stage. Gina will be accompanied by Petra Mede in the first semifinal, Charlotte Perrelli in the second and Henrik Schyffert in the third. During the fourth semifinal, Gina will be back on stage with Sarah Dawn Finer, her co-host for the 2012 edition of the show.
During the Andra Chansen round, Ola Salo (singer of The Ark) and Peter Jöback will be guest hosts. The co-host for the final will be a shocking debut: the newcomer YouTuber William Spetz.
Gina Dirawi already hosted Melodifestivalen in 2012 (with Helena Bergström and Sarah Dawn Finer) and in 2013 (with Danny Saucedo). Sarah Dawn Finer participated in the competition in 2007 and 2009 and sang “The winner takes it all” during Eurovision 2013. Petra Mede has hosted Melodifestivalen 2009, Eurovision 2013 and the 60th anniversary celebration with Graham Norton.
Henrik Schyffert is no new comer to Melodifestivalen, having it hosted in 2005, and Charlotte Perrelli has won Melodifestivalen and Eurovision in 1999, represented Sweden in Eurovision 2008 and tried out another time in Melodifestivalen 2012 with the song “The Girl”.
Ola Salo represented Sweden in 2007 with his band The Ark with the song “The Worrying Kind”, meanwhile Peter Jöback was part of the Melodifestivalen 2010 cast, ending 9th out of 10 in the final.
In a few weeks we will also know the names of the 28 acts, the song titles and the composers that will compete to represent Sweden in the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2016, next 14th of May at the Globen arena in Stockholm.
Melodifestivalen, as in previous years, will be divided in 4 semifinals (in Göteborg, Malmö, Norrköping and Gävle), one second chance round in Halmstad and a Grand Final in Stockholm, at Friends Arena.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button