Editorials & OpinionStockholm 2016

Ukraine back in business and taking this seriously.

Yes, yes and yes! Ukraine is back to Eurovision. It couldn’t participate in the contest last year due to the hard political and economic situation in the country. In 2016 Ukraine is taking its selection process really seriously. The producer of the National selection this year is a famous and a very talented Russian composer and producer Konstantin Meladze. The organizers have already revealed the names of the contestants of the first and the second semi-finals of the Ukrainian National selection.
First semi-final (February 6, 2016)

  • Anastasiya Prikhodko
  • Jamala
  • Lavika
  • Aida Nikolaichuk
  • Tonya Matvienko
  • Vladislav Kurasov
  • Svitlana Tarabarova
  • The Hardkiss
  • Brunettes Shoot Blondes

Second semi-final (February 13, 2016):

  • Victoriya Petrik
  • Pringlez
  • Pur:Pur
  • SunSay
  • Japanda
  • Peaks of Kings
  • Arkadiy Voytyuk
  • “NuAngels”

First semi-final definitely has more famous names from Ukrainian show business, while the second has some new names. Anastasiya Prikhodko, for instance, has already been to Eurovision, representing Russia in 2009 with the song ‘Mamo’ and took the 9th place in the Grand Final.
A professional jury together with the audience are going decide who will represent Ukraine in Sweden. Ruslana and Andriy Danilko (Verka Serduchka) are jury members this year. Ruslana, you will remember, is the only singer that brought the victory to Ukraine in 2004 with her spectacular ‘Wild dances’. Verka was the representative of Ukraine in 2007, and took the 2nd place thanks to her ‘Dancing Lasha Tumbai’. Last time they took part in 2014 Ukraine was represented by Mariya Yaremchuk (‘Tick-Tock’), who came 6th in the Grand Final.
As for me, Ukraine is one of the “must-have” countries for the Eurovision Song Contest. Apart from 2003, svet2009 and 2012 it has always been in Top 10 and showed a great performance thanks to its amazing singers. Happy to see you again, Ukraine! Best of luck in 2016!

Back to top button