Turin 2022🇸🇪 Sweden

SVT reveal full line-up for Melodifestivalen 2022

Melodifestivalen 2022 kicks off in Malmö on February 5!

Last Friday the Swedish national broadcaster, SVT revealed the first 14 names competing in Melodifestivalen 2022. Now the full line-up of 28 acts that will tour across Sweden from next February, has been confirmed. The winning participant will represent Sweden at the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 to be held in Turin, Italy next May.

Melodifestivalen 2022

Finally the rumours and waiting is no more! Earlier tonight, SVT has confirmed the full list of 28 acts that will compete in next February’s Melodifestivalen 2022 national final. From over 2,500 submissions, the broadcaster has narrowed down the artists and songs to the following list below:

2022 Participants:

Alvaro Estrella‘Suave’ (Linnea Deb, Jimmy ”Joker” Thörnfeldt, Joy Deb, Alvaro Estrella)
Anders Bagge‘Bigger Than The Universe’ (Anders Bagge, Jimmy Jansson, Peter Boström, Thomas G:son)
Angelino‘The End’ (Angelino Markenhorn, Julie Aagaard, Melanie Wehbe, Thomas Steengaard)
Anna Bergendahl‘Higher Power’ (Anna Bergendahl, Thomas G:son, Bobby Ljunggren, Erik Bernholm)
Browsing Collection‘Face In The Crowd’ (Carolina Karlsson, Mimi Brander, Moa Lenngren, Nora Lenngren, Sandra Bjurman, Jimmy Wahlsteen)
Cazzi Opeia‘I Can’t Get Enough’ (Bishat Araya, Jakob Redtzer, Cazzi Opeia, Paul Rey)
Cornelia Jakobs‘Hold Me Closer’ (Isa Molin, David Zandén, Cornelia Jakobsdotter)
Danne Stråhed‘Hallabaloo’ (Danne Stråhed, Fredrik Andersson, Erik Stenhammar)
Faith Kakembo‘Freedom’ (Laurell Barker, Anderz Wrethov, Palle Hammarlund, Faith Kakembo)
John Lundvik‘Änglavakt’ (Anderz Wrethov, Elin Wrethov, Benjamin Rosenbohm, Fredrik Sonefors, John Lundvik)
Klara Hammarström‘Run To The Hills’ (Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt, Julie Aagaard, Anderz Wrethov, Klara Hammarström)
Lancelot‘Lyckligt slut’ (Lancelot Hedman, Niklas Carson Mattsson)
LIAMOO‘Bluffin’ (Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt, Sami Rekik, Dino Medanhodzic, Ali Jammali)
Lillasyster‘Til’ Our Days Are Over’ (Jimmy Jansson, Palle Hammarlund, Ian-Paolo Lira, Martin Westerstrand)
Linda Bengtzing‘Fyrfaldigt hurra!’ (Thomas G.son, Linda Bengtzing, Myra Granberg, Daniel Jelldéus)
Lisa Miskovsky‘Best To Come’ (Lisa Miskovsky, David Lindgren Zacharias)
Malin Christin‘Synd om dig’ (Jonathan Lavotha, Oliver Heinänen, Malin Christin)
Malou Prytz‘Bananas’ (Alice Gernandt, Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb)
MEDINA‘In i dimman’ (Jimmy ”Joker” Thörnfeldt, Sami Rekik, Dino Medanhodzic, Ali Jammali)
Niello & Lisa Ajax‘Tror du att jag bryr mig’ (Yvonne Dahlbom, Niklas Grahn Linroth, Jesper Welander)
Omar Rudberg‘Moving Like That’ (Omar Rudberg, Gustav Blomberg, Amanda Kongshaug, Kristin Marie)
Robin Bengtsson‘Innocent Love’ (David Lindgren Zacharias, Victor Sjöström, Victor  Crone, Viktor Broberg, Sebastian Atas)
Samira Manners‘Want To Be Loved’ (Samira Manners, Fredrik Andersson)
Shirley Clamp‘Let There Be Angels’ (Mats Tärnfors, Pelle Nylén, Shirley Clamp, Jakob Skarin)
Tenori‘La Stella’ (Dan Sundquist, Kristian Lagerström, Marcos Ubeda, Bobby Ljunggren, Sarah Börjesson Wassberg)
Theoz‘Som du vill’ (Tobias Lundgren, Axel Schylström, Tim Larsson, Elize Ryd, Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt)
Tone Sekelius‘My Way’ (Anderz Wrethov, Tone Sekelius)
Tribe Friday‘Shut Me Up’ (Isak Gunnarsson, Robin Hanberger Pérez, Noah Deutschmann)

The Melodifestivalen 2022 broadcast schedule

Earlier this year it was announced that the Melodifestivalen tour is back to normal for 2022. Together with six shows spread across five Swedish cities. As well as this, SVT also revealed that former participant, Oscar Zia, who competed in both 2014 and 2016, will take on hosting duties this year. More details about further hosts and guest acts will be revealed in due course. Meanwhile eager fans can still purchase tickets to the shows here. Below are the dates and venues for each show:

  • 05 February: Malmö – Malmö Arena (Semi-Final 1)
  • 12 February: Göteborg – Scandinavium (Semi-Final 2)
  • 19 February: Linköping – Saab Arena (Semi-Final 3)
  • 26 February: Lidköping – Sparbanken Arena (Semi- Final 4)
  • 05 March: Örnsköldsvik – Hägglunds Arena (Andra Chansen)
  • 12 March: Stockholm – Friends Arena (Grand Final)

Sweden in the Eurovision Song Contest

Beginning their Eurovision history in 1958, Sweden have always maintained an excellent record of results. Yet it was not until 1966 that Sweden reached the top three for the first time. The Swedish entry, ‘Nygammal vals‘ finished in second place at the contest in Luxembourg City, still the only time Sweden have finished second. Later it was 1974 when Sweden truly began their legacy in the contest. After earning their first win with, ‘Waterloo‘. Of course, launching ABBA into global success.

Consequently Sweden have won a further five times – Herreys (1984), Carola (1991), Charlotte Nilsson (1999), Loreen (2012) and Måns Zelmerlöw (2015). As well as finishing in third place six times second place finish in 1966, they have never finished as runner-up again. Therefore Sweden are the second most successful Eurovision nation behind leaders, Ireland seven wins.

Back in March, Tusse was selected to represent Sweden in Rotterdam with his song ‘Voices’. Not to mention that he prevailed against strong competition from 2011 podium finisher, Eric Saade and 2020 entrants, The Mamas. During the contest in Rotterdam, Tusse qualified from the first Semi-Final, in 7th place and in the Grand Final, Sweden finished in 14th place with 109 points.

Which act are you looking forward to seeing in Melodifestivalen 2022? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter, @escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify for the latest music from your favourite Eurovision acts. As well as YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 contest in Turin!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button