EurovisionTurin 2022🇳🇱 Netherlands

S10 will represent The Netherlands at Eurovision 2022

The Netherlands hosted Eurovision in Rotterdam this year, and are now finally giving fans news about their entry for Italy in 2022! After confirming their participation, the country’s broadcast AVROTROS stated that they were “aiming to stay successful”, referring to the the (primarily) successful years it has seen in the contest since 2013. Now, they have announced that their artist for this year is S10 (Stien den Hollander).

It’s S10!

S10 is the name of singer and rapper Stien den Hollander, who has been praised for writing honest music about mental health. She has released several EPs and singles, where her single ‘Adem Je In’ was noted in the Dutch charts. In the reveal video, S10 states the following:

“It gives me courage. Music is for me the most important thing there is. For anyone who’s experienced the lows or highs. For those who dance in front of the mirror, or prefer to stay out of the light. I am S10 and I’m performing on behalf of The Netherlands at the Eurovision Song Contest.


The selection process

AVROTROS have the clear aim of making sure they stay successful as a Eurovision nation. Since 2013, the Netherlands have made seven appearances in the final, with only Trijntje Oosterhuis failing to qualify in 2015. Furthermore, they scored three top ten results, one of which was a victory. The committee therefore wrote down their ambition for their next entry:

The selection committee aims for an entry with preferably a contemporary, but in any case authentic sound. A song that is able to survive in a competition. By a Dutch artist who can and wants to present a personal song in a distinctive way, in any genre, and if possible a personal story.

Dutch selection committee

The members of the selection committee are the same as they have been since 2019. AVROTROS director Eric van Stade is there, alongside longtime commentator Cornald Maas. This year’s Eurovision host Jan Smit also returns, as do Coen Swijnenberg and Sander Lantinga, radio DJs in the country. The fifth member is the team leader of the online editors at AVROTROS, Joyce Hoedelmans. Head of Delegation Lars Lourenco will oversee the process.

Are you excited about S10 representing The Netherlands? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button