Stockholm 2016

The search for Sweden’s entry has already begun!

Sweden is not only next year’s Eurovision host country but also one of the countries that possibly put the most effort in their national final. Melodifestivalen is a big thing for the Swedes and it’s no surprise that the search for the next Swedish representative has already started. The winner of this year’s music competition Svensktoppen nästa will get a wild card to participate in Melodifestivalen 2016.
A jury built around the head of the Swedish delegation, Christer Björkman, has announced eight finalists who will compete in a final show on the Sunday 6 September. The winner of the contest will not only be chosen by the jury, but also by televoters who can already vote for their favorite artist from now on. Reason enough to have a look at the eight contestants – who knows, the next Eurovision hero might be one of them.

  • Michael Fannon – “Kommer Tid,  Kommer Råd” (engl.: Time will tell)
  • Sofia Sandberg-Albihn – “The Sunny Side”
  • Smajling Swedes – “Goosebumps”
  • Fanny Nilsson – “Alone”
  • Jens Sporron – “Make A Mistake”
  • Miss Winter – “The Road”
  • Jawone – “Främling” (engl.: Stranger)
  • Laila Adele – “Blame It All On You”

All the songs are presented in a radio feed you can find here. Whoever will make it to Melodifestivalen will then compete with a new and fresh song.
Which one of them do you think deserves to win Svensktoppen Nästa? And may they even stand a chance to win Melodifestivalen so that we will meet them again in Stockholm next year?

Back to top button