Stockholm 2016

MINUS ONE internally selected to represent Cyprus

The Cypriot broadcaster CyBC have today confirmed that rock group MINUS ONE will represent the country in Stockholm next year.
MINUS ONE consist of five members – Francois Micheletto (Vocals), Harrys Pari (Guitars), Constantinos Amerikanos (Guitars & Vocals), Antonis Loizides (Bass) and Chris J (Drums).  They have been together for six years, playing gigs both in Cyprus and abroad.
The confirmation reveals that preparations for the song are already underway and that the song will be presented to the public in due course. The entry will be produced by Thomas G: Son, a familiar name among Eurovision fans responsible for composing past entries including Quédate conmigo (Spain 2012), Euphoria (Sweden 2012) and this year’s entries for Spain and Georgia.
The group participated in last year’s National Final for Cyprus with the song Shine but were pipped to victory by 20 year old Giannis Karagiannis.

With Montenegro also opting for an all male band, could 2016 be the year of the groups?  Let us know in the comments if you’re happy with Cyprus’s decision

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button